Brussels Sprouts ala Angela Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Just about any vegetable, in my view, is delicious when it's cooked with bacon and garlic and it is here, too. I found using chicken stock a good choice, more flavorful than just water. As for the cooking time, check your sprouts before the directed 15 minutes - I don't think they need that long. In addition, caramelizing of the onions won't happen at med-high heat (they'd BURN at that temp for that long!), and at a lower temperature the bacon won't crisp up at all. I'd say cook both together at a medium temperature until the bacon is cooked to semi-crisp and the onions have softened - add the garlic toward the last minute or so, so that it doesn't burn. Also, give this a good dose of fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Ever since I was a child, I have always been under the impression that brussel sprouts are not good. However, now that I'm an adult, I've recently had the desire to give them a second chance. I picked this recipe because anything tastes better with bacon! :) This dish was absolutely delicious, and both my husband and I couldn't get enough! I now have a new appreciation for brussel sprouts. Thank you Angela for changing my mind! I am forever grateful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This tasted great and was super easy. Also, I didn't need to add any salt or other seasonings. The listed ingredients' flavors married well all on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is very good. I browned the bacon alone in pan and then set aside and added the onions on lower heat to caramelize and added the garlic last. then returned the bacon back to pan and followed the recipe. I like using the chicken stock. I think it gives it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
These are delicious! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I think when we were younger, nobody liked brussels sprouts because they were nearly always boiled to death, and really weren't good. I learned years ago to saute them, roast them, etc. and they are wonderful. Introduced the fresh sprouts to my kids when they were small and they all love them. This recipe is a great way to introduce someone to brussels sprouts that claims they "hate them".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The only thind I did different was to add a bay leaf to the chicken stock [home made]. 1-1/2 cups. Everything tastes good with bacon. Brussel sprouts are an acquired taste like scotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is the best Brussels Sprouts recipe I have ever made. My hubby and I both loved it. I will be cooking them more often. Definitely a keeper! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Big hit at Christmas dinner! I used a can of broth and simmered down. Next time I will try adding the bacon bits at the end and see if we like them a bit crisp, definitely will cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was a great recipe! It was easy and my kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States