Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
WOW ... 5 stars for a Brussel Sprouts recipe? Great dish. I prepared this for guests last night. I didn't know how they felt about B/S's so I prepared another vegetable side dish as well ... the Sprouts were GONE ..... everyone really complimented the flavor. As is typical I followed the recipe for my first time making it ... no sense in rating a recipe that you've changed!!! The only things I will do differently next time are: 1) skip the butter on top 2) put the bacon pieces on top, not mixed in 3) broil for about 3 minutes at the end. Try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have made this recipe for years and it has always been a favorite. I crumble the bacon on the top instead of mixing it with the sprouts. I also leave off the extra butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Brussel Sprouts! Son LOVES them. Hubby HATES them. Made this Thanksgiving. Hubby ate a small serving to please me. then he ate 2 more to please himself. Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I have a favorite Brussels sprouts recipe that uses pecans and lemon juice but tried this one instead. So glad I did. I tweaked it a bit by adding carrots which I boiled with the sprouts, for color and because I like them! I added minced garlic to the cooked bacon in the pan and briefly sauteed before adding the vegetables. Also, I used gluten free breadcrumbs and less than half of the butter. Normally I don't cook with heavy cream and was pleasantly surprised when it created a creamy glaze that mellowed the flavor of the Brussels. Oh, and I added a good sprinkle of nutmeg with the salt & pepper. It came out wonderful and I'll be making it for Thanksgiving. Big thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Really great. I actually used frozen (cooked al dente) brussels sprouts, since they aren't in season here. I also layered the ingredients...I put half of the sprouts, half of the bacon, etc., etc., and just repeated the layers. Everyone LOVED it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter and was very happy with how it turned out! I tried it because I had made a zucchini gratin by Ina Garten that was delicious and thought this sounded equally good. I did make a few changes, but think the recipe would be good as is too. I sauteed frozen brussels sprouts in butter, then added some salt, pepper and a dash of nutmeg, then the cream. I put the bacon, bread crumbs and parmesan on top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My store didn't have either fresh or frozen brussels sprouts, and I had my heart set on trying this recipe, so I used broccoli in place of brussels sprouts. It was delicious. My husband wants me to make it this way in the future, but I like brussels sprouts even more than broccoli, so I can't wait to try it that way. Other than the broccoli, I made it exactly as the recipe called for. UPDATE: I made this for Easter using Brussels sprouts. It was sooo delicious. I doubled the bacon and mixed half of it in with the Brussels sprouts and sprinkled the other half to top of the bread crumbs and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was good. Some of the brussel sprouts got kind of mushy. I'm not sure if I cooked them to long or if it's because I used frozen rather than fresh. Next time I might try adding some more flavors like garlic or onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Out of 3 different brussel sprout recipes we've tried this week, this was , hands down, the favorite by brussel sprout lovers. Non-brussel sprout lovers didn't like any of them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I hate Brussels sprouts and this was AMAZING! I brought more Brussels sprouts just to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States