Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were great! Did not use the butter on the topping and really did not measure anything except the heavy cream - used 3 slices bacon and simply sprinkled a small amount of crumbs and freshly grated Roma cheese over top. Really enhanced the flavor of brussels sprouts - if you don't care for them, remember they are the main ingredient in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is so good, especially considering its simplicity! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
WOW. Real sleeper of a recipe and good! I subbed oatmeal for breadcrumbs, 1/4 lb pork sausage for bacon and 1/2 C chardonnay with ~1/4 C sour cream for the cream. And I was a little heavy with the Monterrey jack cheese (no Parmesan)... Aw shucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Nice change up to my usual roasted brussel sprouts! I used half and half in place of the heavy cream. The crust on top was yummy! I would make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We loved this dish. Five stars for ingredients. I quartered the sprouts after they were cooked, then tossed them in the cooked bacon, salt, pepper, half the bread crumbs and Parmesan. Then I drizzled in the cream, then the butter which I melted. Delicious way to serve these underrated veggies. Please give them a try. They will be on my table at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
So I used cooked frozen sprouts & 1/2 & 1/2 - only 1/3c. Tossed the sprouts w slightly heated 1/2 & 1/2 & maybe 1T plain breadcrumbs; then, added to the dish. Topped w remaining breadcrumbs & the parmesan. I thought I'd like & I did, but no one else was as happy. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I HATE brussel sprouts but after my mom just bought 2 bags I decided to look up recipes other than plain ol steamed brussels. this was actually pretty good. I think it would be better if made a day ahead so they can absorb the creaminess or maybe add more cream or even cut the brussel sprouts right in half. will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe! I made it to bring to Easter dinner at my Mom's house, I heard someone comment it was their favorite dish of the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I loved this, but I gave only three stars because I changed quite a bit. I sautéed the bacon and halved the spouts. Instead of pre-boiling the sprouts, I added them directly to the bacon to cook them. This makes a big difference to their taste and texture. Then it was all seasoned and baked in cream and topping. In the end, I don't think the cream added anything. I would make this again, but my style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent way to eat brussel sprouts for a nice change from the usual. This recipe has less ingredients and is quicker to prepare than my other Cheesy Gratin of Brussels Sprouts recipe that I make once in a while. This one is just as tasty though. The whole family gave it 5 stars (they loved the bacon in it). I will be making this one again for sure. Oh, and my only change was using half-n-half in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States