Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was great! After reading a few reviews, I was ready to begin. Usually, I'm not fond of brussles sprouts but I am learning it makes quite a difference in how they are prepared. I chunked up half a lemon and boiled it with the sprouts to help with the bitterness and it added a lot of flavour as well. To get the tasty bits off the bottom of my cast iron saute pan (bacon and 2 cloves of minced garlic), I splashed in a little pinot grigio and then tossed the cooked, halved sprouts in the pan. After that, I followed the recipe as is and WOW! Simple, fresh, delicious!! Will certainly be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe was a hit with my family....I like to make different recipes with my vegetables....you must try this...it's rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Awesome. Definitely worth the effort. I added fresh carrots, and used turkey bacon. Yum. Yum. Yum. Worthy of company, worthy of family, worthy of eating alone on the couch while watching trash TV. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My store didn't have either fresh or frozen brussels sprouts, and I had my heart set on trying this recipe, so I used broccoli in place of brussels sprouts. It was delicious. My husband wants me to make it this way in the future, but I like brussels sprouts even more than broccoli, so I can't wait to try it that way. Other than the broccoli, I made it exactly as the recipe called for. UPDATE: I made this for Easter using Brussels sprouts. It was sooo delicious. I doubled the bacon and mixed half of it in with the Brussels sprouts and sprinkled the other half to top of the bread crumbs and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was excellent! I hate brussels sprouts but this was unbelievable. It is a bit rich, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My family (husband, 3 kids) LOVED this recipe. We normally cook brussel sprouts and put cheese sauce, but I think we will be doing this now! The bacon and parmesan cheese with this recipe made it! DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent sprouts! Family ate them up. Just wish there was a lower calorie version of this. The cream really makes this dish wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was excellent for a Brussels Sprout dish I have some picky eaters when it comes to Brussels. When asked whats for dinner the gross sounds came out. Truth be told.. My husband and daughter loved it. Even asked if there was any left. This is the recipe to make for those who hate Brussels it will definitely change minds around your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I was looking for a vegetable recipe that my children would eat. They both ate this dish without complaining. I am very pleased. I fried the bacon until it was crispy and put the crumbled pieces on top of the dish so the children could appreciate the bacon better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! I read through the comments first and used some of the suggestions - I cut the sprouts in half before I boiled them and I omitted the butter. As a side dish to baked chicken, this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina0723

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States