Bruschetta with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used (1) 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with jalapeno and (1) 10 oz can of diced tomato with green chili. I also didn't have fresh basil so I used about 1/6 cup of dried basil and then added about 1/2 cup of fresh chopped green onion to give it texture and color. I had a fresh shallot and fresh garlic and I think this would not have worked had I not had the fresh shallot and garlic. I toasted sourdough bread in the oven. My entire family devoured this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Light and fresh tasting, this is an excellent use of the tomatoes from the garden. I made it the day before to allow the flavors to meld, and added the basil just before serving to keep it from turning dark and unappetizing. The recipe is good, but it was missing a little something, which I rectified by lightly drizzling balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good! I made a small technical change, in that I sauteed off the shallots until golden, then added the minced garlic for a minute. This eliminated the harsh taste of both when raw, and let them play a more mellow, though still important role in the final product. The fresh basil makes this recipe. I also add 2 drops of pure vanilla extract, which serves to make the flavors even cleaner and brighter in their orchestration. In place of salt, I use vegetable base, which adds yet another boost of flavor. Don't get me wrong - the recipe is good as is, but can use just a whisker of improvement to bring it stellar heights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My culinairy impaired friend made this to bring to our End-of-season BBQ and everyone loved it! We saved the left overs and had it the day after with some bread and capers in it to make a panzanella type salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wormerveer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
LOVE this!!!!!! Definitely let it marinate at least overnight. I have made this several times and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I was the belle of the cocktail hour with this dish! The Romas were looking a little anemic that day, so I used 2 containers of grape tomatoes, 2 small shallots, and about half a head of garlic. Chopped and combined everything but the basil in the morning, tossed the basil in about 6 hours later, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This tasted great and was easy to prepare. It was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Just made this and it is delicious. added a little romano cheese and oh my god!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I love shallots, so this was the perfect recipe for me to use! I had some leftover sun dried tomatoes, so I added then in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
WOW! I've tried making it like the restaurants and it just has never really been the same....UNTIL I tried this one! Will definitely be serving this at our next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States