Bruschetta with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
So good! My Italian grandmother even loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This is an excellent recipe!! I only made one change and replaced the fresh garlic for 2 tsp. of garlic powder in the tomato mixture for those not too keen on heavy garlic. I too, made the tomato mixture the night before. I didnt have that "basil-blackening" problem probably because of the lemon juice in your recipe. I did not toast the bread slices before hand. I laid bread on baking sheets, topped with the tomato topping, sprinkled with a dash of parmesian cheese and heated in the oven for 6 minutes at 375ºF. I doubled the recipe as I was serving for 15 people. Should have quadrupled it!! absolutely delicious and EASY EASY EASY! yummmi ty Doreen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Wonderful! I did add 1/2cup of freshly grated parmesan and I thought it really improved the flavour! I also agree that they are more flavourful if you do the mix at least a couple of hours ahead. I also brushed the bread slice with the oil before toasting them It still makes them crunchy but less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I took this to our weekly poker game and I was given rave reviews! They couldn't get enough of it. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Divine and so easy to prepare. I prefer to saute my garlic and shallots to mellow the harshness you can get from garlic. I prepared the topping the night before to let the flavors meld. Added the basil right topping because it can turn black and bitter. Garnished the slices with Parmesan cheese and slipped under the broiler for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
The first time I made this I received rave reviews. Everyone loved it and kept asking for the recipe. It's something delicious and a perfect appetizer for a summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is the best bruschetta recipe I have used in a long time. The shallots are a nice change of pace. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I brought this appetizer to a friend's birthday party and it was a hit. It was gone before I was even able to taste it myself. Now I make it for a healthy snack. Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZIFFY5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This recipe was slightly above average. It's not the best we've had, but it was okay (added balsamic vinegar like other posters suggested, and it seemed to benefit from it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Blonay, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
made this for a crowd everyone raved about it. I also topped it with some romano and fresh mozzerella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States