Bruschetta with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I love fresh tomatoes and garlic and this offers both. Great with Fresh Mozzerella melted on french bread then topped with bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very nice. I sweated my shallots in a little olive oil because I don't care for the texture of them raw, but made the rest as directed (though I did reduce the recipe to 1/3). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I have made something similar many times. Like a previous poster letting it sit at least over night will enhance the flavors. I like to cut baggetts into thin slices, brush with olive oil, broil them, and rub raw garlic on them after coming out of the oven. Then you can use them as "chips" to dip into the glorious concoction. p.s.-i add black olives to mine either minced or sliced is fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was really delicious! Made them for a dinner party and they flew off the plate! I sware they were gone in 5 minutes and people kept asking for more!! Great recipe!! Will be making many times over, I'm sure!! Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Excellent recipe, definitely needs to marinate overnight for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Mahoney

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Unless you're cooking for 350 people, you really MUST make the garlic-infused olive oil! It adds something really special to this already tasty dish. (I sampled some without the olive oil and it just wasn't the same.) I also let mine sit overnight in the fridge and did not have a problem with the basil turning colors. As suggested by another reviewer, that's probably due to the lemon juice. I only rated this a four because I was expecting something a touch more outstanding. Don't get me wrong, it's REALLY "good" -- I was just expecting "great." I'll add more next shallots next time and see if it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. I have used it in catering for weddings. People rave and want the recipe all the time. If made the day before, you may need to drain the bruschetta mixture a little before serving. Also when serving 350 people it's okay to find some garlicky cracker type thing. I've found a sturdy garlic bagel chip works great. Then all you have to do is make the bruschetta mixture. It has enough flavor to serve with untoasted baguette also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
this was really good. i added extra garlic and used mint instead of basil because i didn't have any. i also topped it with shredded emmental cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have made this recipe many times since I first tried it in 2005 and it is fabulous each time. Our family likes ours garlicky so we do add a little more garlic but other than that we changed nothing. Thanks Doreen for the great recipe that everyone asks for and I won't share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Love this! Easy and wonderful flavor. I've made it for two parties, and it gets lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States