Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
i left off one of the onions and added 1 and 1/2 can tomato paste to this and it was the best brunswick stew i have had in a while thanks rene for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was very good. I substituted salt pork with virginia bacon and the lima beans with blackeye peas. I omitted the corn, and added diced green bell pepper and beans. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UVASPY
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This stew has so much flavor. The store didn't have the salt pork, so I substituted it with several slices of bacon. I put three slices for the initial boil, then put another slice in for the last hour. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wonderful!! Tastes just like the recipe they serve in Colonial Williamsburg! Be careful though, this recipe makes a lot. Next time I'll adjust the recipe to make 8 servings for now I will freeze the leftovers. Otherwise, I used leftover roast chicken, replaced the potatoes with a cup of uncooked rice stirred in during the last 30 min of cooking and left out the lima beans (its a texture thing). All modifications were minor preferences otherwise I stayed true to the stew which was delish!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munderwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I added smoked sausage to the recipe and it turned out irresistible good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Quick and easy version of this time-honored dish from the South!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
needs a can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I made a huge pot of this for a dinner I cooked at the church last night. I had a bunch of barbqued chicken left from a previous dinner and I boiled this to make it easier to remove from the bone. I used this liquid as the base for my stew. The only other thing I did different was I used canned potaoes and chopped them up and I used speckled butter beans instead of lima beans. Everyone raved about it and the entire pot was consumed. I increased the recipe to feed 50 people. I will diffently be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I used meat from a smoked boston butt to make this. I also used canned potatoes and added some BBQ sauce to thicken and give more flavor. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good, Didn't have salt pork and it was still good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States