Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Quick and easy version of this time-honored dish from the South!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
needs a can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I have made a lot of stews over the years and this is as good as any I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was very good. I substituted salt pork with virginia bacon and the lima beans with blackeye peas. I omitted the corn, and added diced green bell pepper and beans. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I made a huge pot of this for a dinner I cooked at the church last night. I had a bunch of barbqued chicken left from a previous dinner and I boiled this to make it easier to remove from the bone. I used this liquid as the base for my stew. The only other thing I did different was I used canned potaoes and chopped them up and I used speckled butter beans instead of lima beans. Everyone raved about it and the entire pot was consumed. I increased the recipe to feed 50 people. I will diffently be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I used meat from a smoked boston butt to make this. I also used canned potatoes and added some BBQ sauce to thicken and give more flavor. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UVASPY
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This stew has so much flavor. The store didn't have the salt pork, so I substituted it with several slices of bacon. I put three slices for the initial boil, then put another slice in for the last hour. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good, Didn't have salt pork and it was still good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Lots of room to personalize. I used crumbled chirizo instead of salt pork and added okra to the veggie mix. I used "planned over" chicken breast which I added at the last minute just to warm through. Served with hot biscuits...GREAT easy, autumn dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
If you are looking for a southern style Brunswick stew, you will be highly disappointed. If you follow the receipe without doctoring, you get a stew that is the same color as chicken and rice soup and a taste that is just very plain. Doctored it up by adding pork tenderloin, BBQ sauce, Frank's Hot Sauce, tomato puree, a can of tomato soup and several other spices becasue it was very bland and just the wrong color. I would call this a northerner's interpretation of a deeply southern dish. Get a different recipe if you are looking for a Brunswick stew similar to those served in southern BBQ joints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States