Brunch on the Bayou Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Delicious! I used half pepperjack and half monterey jack. And you definitely need more than 4oz of sausage... other than that, perfection! I gave out the recipe all morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoonOfArc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Great dish, went like hot cakes for the office Friday brunch. I use l lb. of Jimmy Dean Italian Sauage and used ground red pepper instead of the flakes. As my husband would say "This is company quality".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Fantastic! Not sure what makes it Bayou-like - it might need crawfish for that. :) I did make some changes, using: - 1 lb turkey italian sausage - About 13 oz of a fresh baguette that I "butterflied" and put in the oven at low heat for a while until somewhat dry. - 1/2 lb Sargento shredded Mexican cheese blend - 2 c whole milk - 16 eggs - White pepper - Maybe 1 T + 1 t Dijon mustard - About 1/2 c white wine - About 3/4 - 1 c sour cream in the egg mix and dolloped the rest of the 16 oz container on top after cooking - About 1/4 t cinnamon - Sprinkled the green onions on top instead of baking in the eggs - Sprinkled Cajun seasoning on top just before serving Took it to work and cooked it in an electric skillet @ about 210 for an hour, removing condensation on lid once. Put Slap Ya Mama seasoning and Sriracha chili sauce on the table. It received RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
In a word...OUTSTANDING!!! As the man of the house I do virtually all the cooking. I can tell you that this is one of the easiest recipes to fix, and the results were just incredible. There were only two small pieces left from the 8 serving dish. I have already emailed this to everyone I know. Thank you so very much for a tasty dish that even a man can't mess it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I think the title of being a "bayou" style dish is a little inappropriate given the chosen ingredients, but that being said, it tasted really good. Because I was wanting a Cajun kick, I bought a 4 pack of Louisiana style Cajun sausages. Several reviewers suggested that it didn't have nearly enough sausage in it, so I just chopped up all 4 sausages and I thought it was the perfect amount. I also really liked the subtle wine flavor, which is unique for a breakfast casserole (I just used the cheapest Chardonnay I could find). My only suggestion is that I think the Monterey cheese could be cut down from 4 cups to 3 cups. Overall, I thought it was a unique, great idea, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a good dish to make for a brunch. However, I made some changes that I think really improved it. First of all, there's not enough sausage in the original recipe. I doubled it, and it was just enough where you could at least taste it. Second, it calls for a lb. of cheese. For me, that is way too much. I cut that in half and used one package (8 oz) of cheese which worked fine. That way you can taste the rest of this instead of just the cheese. Third, i didn't have green onions so I chopped up one onion and sauteed it in a pan THEN added it. It was delicious and you could taste that buttery soft onion in there... I would make this again, but not as the original recipe states. The bread soaking in the egg overnight made it delicious though and it is worth a pop in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was very tasty and it was different than the usual breakfast casserole. The white wine gives it a great taste. Very easy to make, I used turkey sausage and 1/2 pepperjack cheese, 1/2 medium chedder. I do not think I used as much cheese as it calls for though. I will definately make this my number one breakfast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I thought it was too rich and a few too many flavors going on with the wine, sour cream & italian sausage. I won't bother making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
..I don't get it! Mine turned out really bad..:( I used bacon rather than italian sausage and did not have any white wine on hand. The bread made it a little tough and the addition of sour cream and parmesan at the end did not help. The kids did not care for it at all. I'm not sure what I did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States