Brunch on the Bayou Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Oh, yummmmmm. This was good. I made it for Christmas brunch and everyone asked for the recipe. My MIL asked me to make it for her for some guests she is having this week. I accidently used mozzarella cheese instead of Monterey jack. Whoops. But, it was still very good. I used a whole pound of herbed sausage (garlic and herbs). If you use that much sausage, you do not need to add any salt. This is a keeper recipe, for sure!! Even my two pre-teen boys loved it. Thank you Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Terrific!!! I used 6 oz, 2 links, of hot Italian sausage. I think I will use 3 links next time and add bit more red pepper because I like things HOT. Everyone else thought it was perfect. A perfect Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is rich, but so good. I made it on Christmas Eve, so that we could have a hot breakfast Christmas morning. Everyone stopped opening presents for this! Pair with fruit salad to balance the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This casserole was wonderful! I served it at the first brunch I threw for my best friends. Aside from adding more sausage (we love our MEAT!), I followed the recipe exactly. I turned from the "microwave girl" to "domestic goddess" instantly. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionjoyce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I didn't like this, but I made it for a get together and got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
..I don't get it! Mine turned out really bad..:( I used bacon rather than italian sausage and did not have any white wine on hand. The bread made it a little tough and the addition of sour cream and parmesan at the end did not help. The kids did not care for it at all. I'm not sure what I did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Thank you for posting such a lovely brunch recipe. I have several brunces a year, and this was such a nice change to the traditional stratas I usually make. A great flavor....I'd give it more than five stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHMCSHANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Made this for the first time for a Sunday Brunch and everyone loved it! Next time I will put at least 16 oz of the Italian sausage. We had green tobasco on the table which adds a great zest. Served this with scalloped cabbage & griled peaches with almond cream. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
After my brunch guests left I felt like some kind of cooking star. This dish brought rave reviews from everyone!! (the kids wouldn't touch it, but never eat egg dish anyway, I had homemade waffles for them) It was so different from your run-of-mill egg casserole, that people were looking foreward to trying it. My sister said it tasted much better than it smelled. I made 2 pans and that was a bit too much for 10 adults. I increased the sausage to a whole pound, and used spicy bulk sausage (not in the casing). I also used 1/2 Pepper Jack and 1/2 Monterey Jack (1/2 lb. of each). Broiled to brown the cheese for about three minutes. Then let it sit about 25 minutes before serving! Perfect! It had quite a kick. I served it with the best salad recipe in the world from this site: Mandarin Almond Salad (be sure to add the craisins). It was the perfect complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I took this to a Bible study function and everyone loved it. Here are the mortifications I made; 12 oz. of sage flavored breakfast sausage instead of Italian, a little less than 1 pound of cheddar/jack cheese, and a bit more red pepper flakes than the recipe called for. I'd give this recipe 5 stars but it's kind of a pain being made one day, cooked 30 min covered, 30 uncovered and then finishing with another 10. I didn't have day old bread so I cut a 1 pound loaf into about 10 pieces and put it in a 200 degree oven for 20 minutes before cutting it into 1/2 dollar size pieces. The servings can be cut pretty small since this is very rich. I waited 30 minutes to cut and serve and it held its heat and served perfectly into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States