Brunch on the Bayou Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great "base" recipe. Can really tweak it with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Every holiday season, we have this at least once. It is a tradition for us, and everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this for a shower along with a veggie egg bake, and this one got all the compliments and recipe requests. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fabulous. Thought sausage amount was perfect. Used peppejack cheese only and omitted the red peppers. Had a great kick. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Great recipe - made this for Father's Day brunch. Use 3-4 Italian sweet sausages, 1/2 tsp of chili flakes - just the perfect amount of heat. Used 2 cups of Monterey jack cheese - this was just right. Don't forget to spray your pan first. I served this with a big bowl of cup of mixed fruit and some scones. Cooking time as per recipe are accurate. So easy as you can make this the day before. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This was a big hit at brunch. Next time I'll only use half the cheese. With the texture of this dish, the cheese was almost overpowering it but a small adjustment will fix it. I'll probably use about 2/3 of what the recipe calls for. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I had a Champagne Bunch party in my home, and did what no sensible person would ever do: made three things for the first time, without "test-driving" the recipes. And also refused to actually measure anything. Har-har! One of the three was this dish. I used a full 1lb. roll of sage breakfast sausage, added some cayenne to the eggs, topped the sausage layer with sliced red bell pepper (GENIUS!) and didn't measure the cheese...I just sprinkled the amount I thought seemed reasonable. (Also, I used cheddar instead of Monterey Jack.)I suspect it was less than the allotted amount. My bread was day-old Ciabatta, also not measured, and also maybe less than the suggested amount. Whatever, I just sprinkled bits about until it seemed like enough. It was DELICIOUS. Top-notch. And I am SO picky about good-quality food! My guests complimented my cooking, and my husband took the left-overs to work the next day for a holiday pitch-in, and came home empty-handed. FIVE STARS. Would go with six if it were allowed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I think the title of being a "bayou" style dish is a little inappropriate given the chosen ingredients, but that being said, it tasted really good. Because I was wanting a Cajun kick, I bought a 4 pack of Louisiana style Cajun sausages. Several reviewers suggested that it didn't have nearly enough sausage in it, so I just chopped up all 4 sausages and I thought it was the perfect amount. I also really liked the subtle wine flavor, which is unique for a breakfast casserole (I just used the cheapest Chardonnay I could find). My only suggestion is that I think the Monterey cheese could be cut down from 4 cups to 3 cups. Overall, I thought it was a unique, great idea, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is probably the best and most interesting strata I have ever come across and there are many, many out there. Thanks for a great contribution to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by An Affair from the Heart
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Made this last weekend for a family brunch. It was outstanding! I did mess up on the instructions though, and put the sour cream in with the egg mixture instead of saving it for the top, but it made it yummy!! I used 1/2 pepper jack, 1/2 monterey jack as someone suggested, and loved it. Think next time I will add more red pepper flakes to kick it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by An Affair from the Heart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States