Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe sounds great - and simple, too. However, what type of tea should I serve along with these scones?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
i am new to the "scones zone", i gave it 4 stars cuz it seems for me that it needs more sugar for more flavour! i didnt have currants and am not a fan of raisins so i added dry peach cut to pieces (mayb with currants it would taste sweeter), next time ill try it with more sugar as i said and nuts; am thinking almond and/or peanuts... all in all it was a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were my first scones, and I don't have reason to try another recipe. My family and I love them. They are moist and tender. I used chocolate chips instead of currants, and substituted skim milk for whole. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I used 2 cups of flour and frozen blueberries instead of currants. When rolling the dough into a log I rolled it in white sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
The yolk gave a very strange yellow color haha... I'll brush it with milk next time. Also, I used a soft margarine instead of butter, since I have had bad experience with the butter staying in chunks and not melting properly. I added 1/4 tsp of salt, to help bring out the flavor of the other ingredients. (I'll try 1/2 tsp next time) The texture and moistness of the scones were very good, much better than all the other ones I tried that turned out dry and hard! It seemed just a little muffin-like though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very yummy. Modifications: 3/4c wheat flour and 1c white flour. Used low fat yogurt thinned with water rather than milk. Skipped the egg yolk brush and instead brushed the scones with melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I wanted to try a new recipe for scones and found this one that seemed easy enough for me to make a bazilion of. It was a very easy recipe!! I tripled it at first and instead of adding the currents, I add chocolate chips (my favorite kind of scone!). I didnt change anything in the recipe, even though I tripled it except that I didnt roll it out on flour, I used parchment paper. Much easier and way less messy. I then doubled the recipe, this time adding cran-raisins instead of the currents. I also used a heart cookie cutter instead of the round cutter, just to make them "cuter". :) These are wonderfully yummy scones and were a BIG hit at my Ladies Tea at church yesterday. I even took the leftover scones and gave them to the kids in Childrens Church for their morning snack! They gobbled them right up! Thanks for a wonderful recipe! I will make these forever now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Bateman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very simple, yummy recipe. I used cranberries and they turned out very well. Definitely a keeper for future brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe and very easy. I did add 1tsp. of real vanilla to the egg yolk for the topping. I also sprinkled course sugar on each on after they were topped with egg yolk and vanilla. I don’t care for currents so I used Ocean Spray Craisins. I had never made Scones before so I was a little nervous. However, I wish I would have made a double batch because everyone wanted more. Great recipe, I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Amended review: I had written how much my family LOVED these, but making them a second time they were so sticky and moist I almost threw the whole glob out. USE MORE FLOUR. Additional flour and kneading didn't harm the scones a bit. **I had no currants and my family isn't crazy about raisins, so I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 T extra of sugar to compensate. Even my husband who isn't a fan of sweets said this was "perfect".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States