Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I used huckleberry and sprinkled confectioner's sugar instead of brushing the egg yolk. Turned out delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These were excellent. I actually doubled the currants (my friend gave me fresh ones) and also added some chopped walnuts. I think I too would cut them into triangles to get more even pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
these were very good. i didnt add the currants or brush with an egg yolk and they were still perfect. next time i will cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
A terrific scone recipe. I like to roll out the dough into a round and cut into pizza-shaped triangles. Less hassle than using a cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
absolutely superb !! MUST TRY !! soft and fluffy, the top was soft, the bottom gave a slightly crispy texture. instead of the egg, I used milk with honey, melted. incredibly delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
No need for egg wash. Turns out great with white chocolate bits and chopped dried cranberries, or diced apple with cinnamon. Even add cocoa and chocolate chips! Have with homemade clotted cream (1 part yogurt + 2 parts heavy cream and let sit for 12 hrs covered at room temp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I made these with cranberries, to rave reviews from my friends who came over for tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy JF
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These scones are simply delicious. I whipped them up easily and baked them in my new pan. Minor modifications include, only 4 Tbsp of sugar used in the batter, dry cranberries instead of currants, used 50% whole wheat flour and I sugared the top after brushing on the egg yolk. They are so delicious plus are incredible the next morning toasted on the griddle with butter. mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy JF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very easy scone recipe! The egg yolk basically gives the scone a yellow look and a slightly eggy taste. I used frozen blueberries and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I freeze my butter, then grate it into the sugar. It works well. Also I prefer to add a little white chocolate and cranberryies into the recipe and add a little sugar on the top of the scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States