Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This dough was extremely sticky to work with. I made the recipe exactly as the directions state. They looked beautiful but they did not taste that great. My husband said, "You can throw out this recipe" so I guess I will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
These scones turned out fantastic! Moist & fluffy. I only had salted butter in but they still turned out great. The dough was a bit moist so I didn't bother rolling out the dough. Instead, I just divided the dough into eight pieces and pressed them into circles. I also didn't bother brushing the tops of the scones with the egg yolk. To me, that just didn't seem necessary. I will defnintely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Instead of using currants, I added black walnuts and dried cranberries to the recipe and served these scones hot from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. They were a huge hit. These are the best scones I've ever eaten, and certainly the best I've ever baked. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
These scones were great! I used two cups of flour, added dried cranberries (no curants on hand), patted into a circle, cut into 8 wedges, brushed with honey instead of egg, and baked in a circle with a little space in between on parchment. They rose beautifully, baked to a golden brown, were light and fluffy, and tasted very good. These were fast and easy and I will make them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I had never made scones before, and these turned out very well. Very quick, easy to make, and everyone enjoyed them. I used raisins and half and half (out of milk again). The dough was easily shaped into a 3/4 inch thick circle, then I cut the circle into eighths. I brushed each wedge with half and half, which gave them a nice finish. I'll make these again for sure. Thanks, Bianca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This is the best scone recipe ever!! It bakes nicely (temp. was perfect for me), and it comes out delicious! I didn't use the currants, and I used soy milk instead of milk. All I had was salted butter in the house, so I used that...it worked, however, it must of slightly changed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Great scones! I didn't use the egg yolk, and by the way, chocolate chips do work. Good stuff, very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Best Scones EVER! I've made them about six times now, and they always come out great. I've used both butter and margerine in the recipe, and I find that butter makes the scones hold their shape better, although margerine tastes just as good. This is defentely my new Scone Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIGHTYMOUSE77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
My daughter has made this recipe twice. Once the same as the recipe. And she made it once putting apples and a little cinnamon. Both times these scones were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
sweet and tasty scone, greta with lemon curd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States