Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 21, 2005
My daughter has made this recipe twice. Once the same as the recipe. And she made it once putting apples and a little cinnamon. Both times these scones were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
sweet and tasty scone, greta with lemon curd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
So easy I made them on a weekday morning! I used soymilk instead of whole milk and chopped dates instead of currants. The dough was very sticky so I just cut it into wedges instead of stamping out circles. Not too sweet & they had a perfect texture. Great with coffee or tea. My kids each ate 2 of them! We will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
The best thus far of the scone recipies that I have tried! I doubled the butter, as suggested by another rater, went ahead and added a quater of a cup of flour to make 2 cups of flour. I added one teaspoon on almond extract and drizzled honey on top of them before baking. OH HOW DIVINE they came out! The honey crusted the tops and added a little more sweetness to them. The scones are light and fluffy and are divine when dipped in coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Good and easy. Used blackberries so I doubled the fruit-just the right amount, and they are of perfect sweetness. Oh and used cream vs. whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
These were great. I substituted fresh cranberries for the currants. And unfortunately ate 3 myself! I did add just slightly extra flour. But loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
These are easy and delicious. The only change I made was using cream instead of whole milk - it's probably why I'm such a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
These were great and very easy. Light and fluffy. These are like english scones which I prefer. I found that they were very easy to roll out--not too sticky. Perfect for a light, simple breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I found the mix to be exceedingly gooey, far too sticky to either roll or shape and had to add extra flour just to enable this. I now notice an earlier reviewer mentioned when they doubled the recipe they did not have to double the milk...I would have reduced the amount of milk used had I read that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This recipe is absolutely perfect if you double the amount of butter. Everyone goes crazy when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lazarus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States