Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Delicious. I rolled the dough into a 6 inch log, and rolled it in about 1 tbsp white sugar. I then cut it into slices and set them on a baking sheets. I didn't brush them with the yolk... It was delicious. I froze the leftovers, and reheated them in the microwave for about 30 sec. They were still great. Thanks! UPDATE: Do NOT forget to let them stand 15 mn. I forgot the second time I made them, and they turned out pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
These scones were great! I used two cups of flour, added dried cranberries (no curants on hand), patted into a circle, cut into 8 wedges, brushed with honey instead of egg, and baked in a circle with a little space in between on parchment. They rose beautifully, baked to a golden brown, were light and fluffy, and tasted very good. These were fast and easy and I will make them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
These scones turned out fantastic! Moist & fluffy. I only had salted butter in but they still turned out great. The dough was a bit moist so I didn't bother rolling out the dough. Instead, I just divided the dough into eight pieces and pressed them into circles. I also didn't bother brushing the tops of the scones with the egg yolk. To me, that just didn't seem necessary. I will defnintely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wonderful scone recipe - I froze the butter and then grated it into the dry ingredients. I also added a tsp. of vanilla and an additional Tbsp. of sugar, as I love a sweet scone. I used half and half instead of milk and after the egg wash topped them off with turbinado sugar for that extra added crunch. These are delicious with currants or raisins and a wonderful base for add-in's like dried cranberries and orange zest or mini chocolate chips. Delicious, light and moist - perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2002
these were really good and not too sweet. I doubled it and made twelve nice sized scones. I also added blueberries to half of them and made an icing sugar glaze ( I flavored it with almond but might also try lemon or maple). Note: when I doubled this recipe I did not need to double the milk and did not double the baking powder. Worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Killer recipe. I substitute buttermilk for milk and everyone (including my two year old) loves them. Sometimes I skip the egg wash because I bake these at my bed and breakfast and they are still a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe!! I have made this over and over again. Easily made with everyday items. I have made them with frozen blueberries, lemon and poppyseeds and even with Splenda. They come out perfect everytime. Don't waste time rolling them out, just pat into a thick circle and cut into 8 wedges. Top with sugar, bake and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! I've made it again and again. These scones are the real deal, not muffins in disguise. The flavor and texture are just right. To make it slightly easier, I just pat the dough into a large circle and divide it into eight triangles. Then I sprinkle with sugar rather than doing the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I added a little less sugar, 4 Tbsp instead of 5. And with no milk on hand, I used non fat yogurt diluted with a touch of water. And yes the waiting time is essential. Wonderful texture. I've tried tons of scone recipes and this is by far my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elle17

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I just made these. First recipe I tried, but these scones taste better than any I have ever bought in a bakery or street fair. Very light and airy. I used zante currants, which is produced by the same brand as Sunmaid raisins. Also, 400 degrees is too hot in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States