Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very simple, yummy recipe. I used cranberries and they turned out very well. Definitely a keeper for future brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe and very easy. I did add 1tsp. of real vanilla to the egg yolk for the topping. I also sprinkled course sugar on each on after they were topped with egg yolk and vanilla. I don’t care for currents so I used Ocean Spray Craisins. I had never made Scones before so I was a little nervous. However, I wish I would have made a double batch because everyone wanted more. Great recipe, I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Amended review: I had written how much my family LOVED these, but making them a second time they were so sticky and moist I almost threw the whole glob out. USE MORE FLOUR. Additional flour and kneading didn't harm the scones a bit. **I had no currants and my family isn't crazy about raisins, so I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 T extra of sugar to compensate. Even my husband who isn't a fan of sweets said this was "perfect".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
These scones were one of the best I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I thought these were very good, but I will add more Splenda next time. I made the following adjustments to this recipe. I used 1 cup flour, and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, added 1 whole egg, added 6 packets of Splenda, and used 1 cup of dried cranberries unstead of currants...(don't even know what a currant is) LOL... Scones are usually not sweet enough for me so that's why I added the Splenda. Also, I suggest not preheating the oven until you have the scones on the baking sheet. They have to rest for 15 minutes there so no need for the oven to be on that extra time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
My husband loved these! I am a big scone fan and these were easy and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Moraga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Great recipe! It was quite easy to make. I used skim milk, but still had beautiful scones. Also used raisins in place of currants. After making the dough, I realized I was out of eggs! I used instead 1 Tablespoon of melted butter, 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and sugar, and brushed the top before letting sit. They were wonderful, light, and very tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My family loves it, we eat them choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
My mom made scones just about every Sun when I was a kid. These taste exactly the same. Crumbly and just a tad sweet. They are killer hot from the oven with a nice slather of butter on them. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Great scones! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States