Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was my first time making scones and these were so simple. The only reason that I rated it a 4 is because I did make a couple modifications though. First, I used all whole wheat pasty four, Second I used honey instead of the white sugar. I used a whisk to mix it into the milk mixture ( i used skim milk). Third, I added a bit of vanilla to the milk/honey mix to add more flavor. Fourth, after the butter and flour was crumbled I placed it back in the refrigerator to keep the butter really cold for about 10 minutes. I also made mine with some orange zest. yummy! great base recipe that lends itself to many different combinations. I think next time I will add some orange juice in place of the milk to add a stronger orange flavor. I think lemon poppy seed would also be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Lacking in flavor and not a great texture either. I will stick to my other recipe for scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe was easy and delicious... I added lemon zest and used dried cranberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I used huckleberry and sprinkled confectioner's sugar instead of brushing the egg yolk. Turned out delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These were excellent. I actually doubled the currants (my friend gave me fresh ones) and also added some chopped walnuts. I think I too would cut them into triangles to get more even pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
these were very good. i didnt add the currants or brush with an egg yolk and they were still perfect. next time i will cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
A terrific scone recipe. I like to roll out the dough into a round and cut into pizza-shaped triangles. Less hassle than using a cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
absolutely superb !! MUST TRY !! soft and fluffy, the top was soft, the bottom gave a slightly crispy texture. instead of the egg, I used milk with honey, melted. incredibly delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
No need for egg wash. Turns out great with white chocolate bits and chopped dried cranberries, or diced apple with cinnamon. Even add cocoa and chocolate chips! Have with homemade clotted cream (1 part yogurt + 2 parts heavy cream and let sit for 12 hrs covered at room temp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I made these with cranberries, to rave reviews from my friends who came over for tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States