Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I followed the recipe and the scones came out very good. I did not add the egg yolk on top but followed the advice of another and added a little honey on top. The scones tasted very good, not too sweet and everyone liked them. I liked this recipe a bit better than the Huckleberry Scones recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great scones, I made these for our tea parties at work and they were delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These turned out just like in the picture, though I hoped they would rise a bit more (and look like the ones you get in Britain). Dough was easier to work with after I floured my hands well. I padded them into circles and didn't glaze them with anything. The taste could have been somewhat richer and sweeter but they were perfect with some butter and homemade strawberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
this is the only recipe for scones i’ll keep for a while, it’s simple, sweet… mm. note: waking up to a near empty kitchen, i made a few slight changes, such as using chocolate milk and not brushing them with egg, but sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. oh and patting the dough into a circle is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsagie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Super good and easy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Instead of raisens, I used peaches everyone still liked them. Hopefully next time i can make them with raisens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These are the best and easiest scones to make. The trick is to grate the butter in a cheese grater to form the crumbles even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was my first time making scones and these were so simple. The only reason that I rated it a 4 is because I did make a couple modifications though. First, I used all whole wheat pasty four, Second I used honey instead of the white sugar. I used a whisk to mix it into the milk mixture ( i used skim milk). Third, I added a bit of vanilla to the milk/honey mix to add more flavor. Fourth, after the butter and flour was crumbled I placed it back in the refrigerator to keep the butter really cold for about 10 minutes. I also made mine with some orange zest. yummy! great base recipe that lends itself to many different combinations. I think next time I will add some orange juice in place of the milk to add a stronger orange flavor. I think lemon poppy seed would also be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Lacking in flavor and not a great texture either. I will stick to my other recipe for scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe was easy and delicious... I added lemon zest and used dried cranberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States