Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rEgrEttEDmE
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I love this! I was going through recipes finding the best one. And I thought these were perfect! I love that it was doughy and dense, instead of being crumby. I ate them plain without any jam because they were tasty enough on their own. I tried baking them in my Philips Airfryer and it was surprisingly successful. I tried putting it in for 10 minutes at 200 degrees celsius, but when I checked them at the 5th minute mark, they were really dark. I was afraid they would get burnt, so I adjusted the temperature to 150 degrees. The scones which came out of the air fryer was not dried, as I thought they would be. Instead, they were a bit more sticky compared to the ones that came out of the oven. It may be due to the fact that I put it in for a shorter time, but it was crispy on the outside and soft on the inner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is an amazing recipe.Instead of currants i used craisins and they came out great. I also added some orange zest with a little of of the juice too. This is a good recipe, and its also good if your a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Absolutely AMAZING!!! I did not have currants so I substituted chocolate chips, rolled out a 8"-9" round and cut into wedges(like pie), sprinkled white sugar atop the brushed on egg and baked the required time. Absolutely perfect with tea, coffee or hot chocolate. I will try these with other variations in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the outcome is delicious...not too hard like some scone recipes I have tried before. Because I did not have currants, I added chopped apples and raisins. Very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Sylvester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I changed this recipe to accomodate my daughters milk allergy. Made it with dairyfree margarine (ice cold) and vanilla rice milk. It was delicious and moist. This is the second time I'm making it, we can't get enough. This time I made it with craisins, last time with raisins. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
These were very good, light and fluffy. I made one version with cinnamon chips and one version with chocolate chips and cranberries. I used gluten free flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Followed recipe as written but thought they needed a bit more sugar. I will probably keep looking as these just weren't what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
An easy and delicious recipe. Scones can tend to be dense, but these are light and fluffy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Epstein
Living In: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These are my go to breakfast scones for company. Serve them warm with good jam or preserves, add a bowl of fresh, cut-up fruit and you have a great light breakfast in no time. I also add a little vanilla extract and whatever dried fruit I have on hand to the original recipe. I have used skim, whole and 2% milk as well as 35% cream, sour cream and even greek yogurt and these scones always turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great scones, light, fluffy easy to make. I did sub a few things; used low fat milk, Stevia and omitted the egg wash. Best scones I ever made and I'm from UK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States