Brunch Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe!!! To make it easier, a bit healthier, and a bit tangy, I used frozen O'Brien potatoes, 10 oz. real bacon bits, 1 cup lite mayonnaise, 1 cup of nonfat plain yogurt, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, crushed black pepper, and freshly crushed marjoram. After baking the casserole, I sprinkled more shredded cheddar on top and broiled it to golden brown...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I make it twice a month for our sunday brunch at church. I vary it each time: using ham, sausage, or bacon. I also use sharp, medium, or mild cheddar. And it makes it easier to use frozen hashbrowns (shredded or o brien) or even tater tots! It can be prepared the night before, and popped in the oven in the morning. It is always completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Just have to share with all of you HOW DELICIOUS this dish is. I used red potatoes, left skin on and used Hellman's like someone else suggested. I took it to church this morning and EVERYBODY wants the recipe. Absolutely the biggest hit there today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Yum! This was really rich, but really good. Instead of processed cheese, I used shredded cheddar. I also used only about 10 oz. of bacon, rather than a full pound. And I drained it well. The only drawback was that it still came out really greasy. Any ideas how to cut back on that? If I could fix that, it would get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I loved this recipe! I brought the casserole to a bridal shower and it was a huge hit! Very creamy and cheesy. I used the fresh chopped bacon bits rather than cooking and crumbling the bacon--much easier that way! I also used red potatoes--and didn't peel them, I just chopped them into 1 inch cubes. DELICIOUS! I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starksboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Great! I substituted two cans of cheddar cheese soup mixed with about a half can of milk and left the skin on baby reds. Everyone loved it at Mother's Day brunch, and my brother (who is a great cook) even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Additonal note: For best results, be sure to use Hellman's (also known as Best Foods) Mayonnaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was very good and popular at the brunch potluck I took it to. I boiled the potatoes for about 7 minutes so they wouldn't get too soft in the cooking process. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed. It took about 45 minutes to put it together by the time I got all the bacon cooked, and then I baked it for 45 minutes. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Tried to cut down on the fat by using low fat mayo and 2% cheese. It was fabulous. Definately worthy of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Very good! I left the skin on the potatoes for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States