Brunch Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe!!! To make it easier, a bit healthier, and a bit tangy, I used frozen O'Brien potatoes, 10 oz. real bacon bits, 1 cup lite mayonnaise, 1 cup of nonfat plain yogurt, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, crushed black pepper, and freshly crushed marjoram. After baking the casserole, I sprinkled more shredded cheddar on top and broiled it to golden brown...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I make it twice a month for our sunday brunch at church. I vary it each time: using ham, sausage, or bacon. I also use sharp, medium, or mild cheddar. And it makes it easier to use frozen hashbrowns (shredded or o brien) or even tater tots! It can be prepared the night before, and popped in the oven in the morning. It is always completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Just have to share with all of you HOW DELICIOUS this dish is. I used red potatoes, left skin on and used Hellman's like someone else suggested. I took it to church this morning and EVERYBODY wants the recipe. Absolutely the biggest hit there today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Yum! This was really rich, but really good. Instead of processed cheese, I used shredded cheddar. I also used only about 10 oz. of bacon, rather than a full pound. And I drained it well. The only drawback was that it still came out really greasy. Any ideas how to cut back on that? If I could fix that, it would get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I loved this recipe! I brought the casserole to a bridal shower and it was a huge hit! Very creamy and cheesy. I used the fresh chopped bacon bits rather than cooking and crumbling the bacon--much easier that way! I also used red potatoes--and didn't peel them, I just chopped them into 1 inch cubes. DELICIOUS! I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starksboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Great! I substituted two cans of cheddar cheese soup mixed with about a half can of milk and left the skin on baby reds. Everyone loved it at Mother's Day brunch, and my brother (who is a great cook) even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Additonal note: For best results, be sure to use Hellman's (also known as Best Foods) Mayonnaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was very good and popular at the brunch potluck I took it to. I boiled the potatoes for about 7 minutes so they wouldn't get too soft in the cooking process. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed. It took about 45 minutes to put it together by the time I got all the bacon cooked, and then I baked it for 45 minutes. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Tried to cut down on the fat by using low fat mayo and 2% cheese. It was fabulous. Definately worthy of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Very good! I left the skin on the potatoes for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States