Brunch Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Made this today for a holiday brunch with friends and everyone raved about it. Made it as is except for omitting the bacon since I also served ham. It's the only dish that totally disappeared by the end of the day. Yum. (Was also easy to make ahead last night and pop in the oven to bake today.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was really good, but not the best cheesy potato casserole I have had. I made it for a brunch and it went well. It tasted a little too 'mayo-y' for me. I did use real shredded cheese instead of processed,reduced fat mayo, and turkey bacon to help reduce some of the calories. It did take longer than a 30 -minute prep for me by the time I skinned the potatoes and cubed them and got the bacon cooked and everything put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Let me just say I love mayo, I love cheese, and I love potatoes, but this is the first time I've put all three together in one dish. Why didn't I think of this first?!? I thought it was really really good. But hubby and son thought it was just okay. I think the problem was that I used tator tots as another reviewer suggested and by the time I "gently" stirred the cheese cubes until they were melted, the tots were pretty well shredded and somewhat mashed. If I used tots again I think I'd make my cheese cubes much smaller or maybe even melt the cheese before adding. I used "Hormel Real Bacon Bits" to save time and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe!!! To make it easier, a bit healthier, and a bit tangy, I used frozen O'Brien potatoes, 10 oz. real bacon bits, 1 cup lite mayonnaise, 1 cup of nonfat plain yogurt, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, crushed black pepper, and freshly crushed marjoram. After baking the casserole, I sprinkled more shredded cheddar on top and broiled it to golden brown...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was very easy and tasted great! The kids loved it! No one could tell there onions in it at all! And instead of making 1-inch cubes, I left the skin on and made the chunks a little bigger. Turned out just as tasty as can be! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Yach Voegeli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was SOOO good! My children (ages 4, 8, 11) and my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I make it twice a month for our sunday brunch at church. I vary it each time: using ham, sausage, or bacon. I also use sharp, medium, or mild cheddar. And it makes it easier to use frozen hashbrowns (shredded or o brien) or even tater tots! It can be prepared the night before, and popped in the oven in the morning. It is always completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was great! I made it for Easter dinner & everyone loved! I used fresh potatoes & then my sister told me she forgot to mention that she uses frozen. I would use the frozen next time as it would make it much faster. It was really good though & I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Tried to cut down on the fat by using low fat mayo and 2% cheese. It was fabulous. Definately worthy of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this Casserole for Mother's Day Brunch and it was fabulous!! Super easy and holds overnight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States