Brunch Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this casserole to use during the week for quick meals. It's very good, and quite filling! I reheat it only in portions to be eaten right away. I used about half the bacon called for and a little less cheese in the original baking. When I reheat it I sometimes add some pepper jack for a little kick. My family likes it both ways, just cheese or with the additional pepper jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I liked it, but next time would use half an onion, and add some milk because the sauce was a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellekelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was wonderful! It's not low cal, but it tasted wonderful with some strip steaks I made for dinner tonight and was a perfect accompaniment! I actually added some swiss cheese to my mixture to pump up the taste a little. Next time I make it, I am going to experiment a bit more with some other cheeses as I often have leftovers in the packets that you buy. I baked it in one of my ceramic dishes and it got a beautiful dark crusting on it that my family loves. Thanks for sharing with allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe is so ridiculously good it should be a sin!!! My hubby made it for our Christmas brunch and all of our guests raved for days about it...it will become a staple dish in our house. However, it is pretty onion heavy so you may want to halve the amount called for if you don't care for too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth from Atlanta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I served this along with scrambled eggs and biscuits for Christmas morning. I prepared it the night before, but I did change it slightly. I used 1c mayo and 8oz of cream cheese. I also used shredded cheddar cheese. The taste was wonderful and well received by all. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was awesome! I made it for our Christmas potluck at work and not a drop was leftover. I am going to make it again tomorrow for another party that I am going to. I made it using Oscar Meyer real bacon bits because I have no bacon cooking talent - I always burn the bacon or undercook it. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! I made it for a party and the women appreciated the great taste and the simplicity and all of the men thought it tasted just like dutch oven potatoes. I have already been asked to make it again! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
A big hit at potlucks. I always use grated cheddar (not processed). Sometimes I also add cubed chicken to make more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I used to make a casserole like this so I changed the recipe a bit by taking a large onion and slicing it thin. I also cooked the onion before adding it to the potato mixture. It turned out great and my guests loved the cheesey flavor mixed with the onion and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I thought it was pretty good, but my husband thought it was just ok. This was the first dish I've made in almost 5 years that he wasn't in love with. Maybe I'll use other reviewer's suggestions and do cheddar cheese soup instead of mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States