Brunch Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I left the skins on my red potatoes, and used sharp cheddar cheese with real mayonnaise and real bacon. Maybe I didn't drain the bacon well, but it turned out very greasy although the taste was excellent. Everybody loved them but they were even greasier when I reheated. And although I burned some of the bacon, you couldn't tell. And...still...yum!! I'm going to experiment with lite mayonnaise next time. I think I'll use more onions, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Delicious - - would give it 5 stars except for calories so I tried to make it a little healthier as follows. I browned turkey sausage and the chopped red onion together with alot of pepper. Then I added a few handfuls of shredded carrots and torn spinach when I added Hellmans Light Mayo. Used the unpeeled red potatos like others suggested, and mixed them with 8 oz of shredded cheddar (sharp and mild combo). Big hit at a party and at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this a side for christmas dinner. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I brought this to work today and everyone loved it. They all want the recipe. I used store bought real bacon bits to save time and so it wouldn't turn out greasy. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was sooo good. I have tried with both boiled potatoes and frozen potatoes and have had good results with both. I used shredded chedder instead of the velveeta due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Tried this yesterday for the first time and everyone loved it. I made it exactly as written, except I used yukon gold potatoes (which added to the creamy yellow color). I think it is important to make a recipe in it's original form, before you can be critical of the recipe. I have to admit I was nervous about the amount of mayo. I was afraid it would make the dish greasy, but instead they were so light and creamy. I served it as part of our buffet that included baked ham. My cousins told me I couldn't make it again, because they ate TOO MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good. I halved the recipe and made it at night and refrigerated it to cook Christmas morning, and it worked out well. Cooked for 1 hour and was ready to eat once all the presents were opened. I used a package of shredded cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese. Next time: will try frozen potatoes to save time (boiled cubed potatoes for 10min), will add salt and pepper for more flavor, may add some eggs (per my husband's request).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I've made these many times. I use Velveeta for the cheese and bacon bits on top. This is good as your potato dish for a ham or meatloaf dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The first review I have written after using many recipies from this site. I thought this dish was great!! A huge hit at thanksgiving. I cut the recipe in half and instead of using just mayo, I cut the mayo in half and used half light mayo and half fat free sour cream to make it more baked potatoeee and a bit better for you. Also I recommend to cover the dish with alluminum foil while cooking to keep it moist, I cooked it for a bit less time also. Turned out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Ok I finally tried this tonight and it was fantastic! I followed the recipe to the letter and it was totally gone by the time dinner was over! Thanks for such a great recipe! I can see this being made again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTISCHOOR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States