Brunch Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was really good, but not the best cheesy potato casserole I have had. I made it for a brunch and it went well. It tasted a little too 'mayo-y' for me. I did use real shredded cheese instead of processed,reduced fat mayo, and turkey bacon to help reduce some of the calories. It did take longer than a 30 -minute prep for me by the time I skinned the potatoes and cubed them and got the bacon cooked and everything put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Let me just say I love mayo, I love cheese, and I love potatoes, but this is the first time I've put all three together in one dish. Why didn't I think of this first?!? I thought it was really really good. But hubby and son thought it was just okay. I think the problem was that I used tator tots as another reviewer suggested and by the time I "gently" stirred the cheese cubes until they were melted, the tots were pretty well shredded and somewhat mashed. If I used tots again I think I'd make my cheese cubes much smaller or maybe even melt the cheese before adding. I used "Hormel Real Bacon Bits" to save time and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe!!! To make it easier, a bit healthier, and a bit tangy, I used frozen O'Brien potatoes, 10 oz. real bacon bits, 1 cup lite mayonnaise, 1 cup of nonfat plain yogurt, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, crushed black pepper, and freshly crushed marjoram. After baking the casserole, I sprinkled more shredded cheddar on top and broiled it to golden brown...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was very easy and tasted great! The kids loved it! No one could tell there onions in it at all! And instead of making 1-inch cubes, I left the skin on and made the chunks a little bigger. Turned out just as tasty as can be! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Yach Voegeli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was SOOO good! My children (ages 4, 8, 11) and my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I make it twice a month for our sunday brunch at church. I vary it each time: using ham, sausage, or bacon. I also use sharp, medium, or mild cheddar. And it makes it easier to use frozen hashbrowns (shredded or o brien) or even tater tots! It can be prepared the night before, and popped in the oven in the morning. It is always completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was great! I made it for Easter dinner & everyone loved! I used fresh potatoes & then my sister told me she forgot to mention that she uses frozen. I would use the frozen next time as it would make it much faster. It was really good though & I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Tried to cut down on the fat by using low fat mayo and 2% cheese. It was fabulous. Definately worthy of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this Casserole for Mother's Day Brunch and it was fabulous!! Super easy and holds overnight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
You cannot go wrong with this dish, my friends and family have been enjoying this for a couple years now and it will certainly remain in our rotation for years to come. I like to change it up with whatever I have on hand; spinach being a MUST! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States