Brunch Omelet Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
After reading reviews & 'hearing' that some thought it was rather "bland", I spiced up the omelet with a little garlic & paprika. Being from the South, fried potatoes are a staple! Cooked using a little red pepper & cumin, along with the onion. Came out wonderful!!! My ketchup-loving hubby started to douse, but after tasting, decided to leave it in the fridge!! Worth the labor of love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
i made it this afternoon. it took about two hours to make, after waiting for the pastry sheets to thaw. then the additional cooking time. i added pepperoni's to mine, and used 8 eggs instead of 6. it was SO DELICIOUS! loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marycat337

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good as is. However, next time I'll probably add bacon, sausage and mushrooms. The sky is the limit as to what you can put in the puff pastry shell. I'm thinking about a giant bacon cheeseburger for game day or meatloaf with mashed potatoes and a veggie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I tried this for brunch and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! Not exactly heart healthy, but like someone else stated, it isn't something that you would eat very often. My family loved it. Anything in moderation is ok. I followed the recipe, except I didn't have any fresh parsley. We had it for dinner, but I think it would be great served any time of the day! Thanks Michele for sharing this yummy recipe. I will definitely make it again....probably not until the holidays. It is that 'special' kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I serve this for Christmas brunch. I double the recipe; one pie I make according to the recipe and the other I substitute baby shrimp for the ham. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I have to say this was a great idea. I added fresh green peppers, mushrooms, garlic, celery to the potatoes while I fried them up. When all was cooked, I did what was recommended. Kids loved it so was a great addition to healthy eathing...Thx..from Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I have been making this for over 10 yrs. Found in the Land O Lakes Cookbook. Takes a little but excellent! I make it ahead and put in the oven in the morning. Has been our Christmas Breakfast for yrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bozman, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was wonderful, albeit a lot of work in the morning, at least an hour+. Next time I'll make it the night before and leave it in the fridge, putting the egg wash on just before it goes into the oven. Alternately, at least cook your potatoes & onions, grate the cheese and put the pastry in the fridge from the freezer the night before. Got rave reviews from my 8 guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fail proof recipe, no matter what changes you make to the recipe. Served at Easter, everyone really enjoyed it. I found the original recipe a little bland, but still tasty. The next time, I'll add spicy sausage and/or some diced green chili to the egg. I cut the strips of pastry, and laid them across the top in a lattice weave (9x13 pan), put some extra cheese on top in the empty areas. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States