Brunch Omelet Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fail proof recipe, no matter what changes you make to the recipe. Served at Easter, everyone really enjoyed it. I found the original recipe a little bland, but still tasty. The next time, I'll add spicy sausage and/or some diced green chili to the egg. I cut the strips of pastry, and laid them across the top in a lattice weave (9x13 pan), put some extra cheese on top in the empty areas. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
The taste of the layered ingredients was fabulous and not as time consuming as you would expect, particularly if you use frozen hash browns. However my puff pastry did not puff up and and was really doughy. Not sure why. The presentation looked professional but we had to peel off the pastry to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MERLU
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This comes out beutiful when using a Spring Form Pan. You have to adjust the pastry a little but for the bottom crust but it is OK. I cubed my ham and make it the day before. make sure the potatoes are done. Let it return to room tempertature before cooking. Delicions and a big hit with everyone. Makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is really a fantastic recipe. But why make it in a pie pan when you can use a spring form pan and have a really beautiful presentation. I made it ahead and froze it as others have done but when I served it I added a green Chile Hollandaise sauce over the top. It really blew every one away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Wow, this is fabulous! I didn't have enough potatoes on hand but it was still awesome even with less. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Amazingly delicious! This is so beautiful... people are always impressed when I make this (I double it & use a 9x13 rectangular pan). I've made all the layers the night before, assembled them & covered it with plastic til the morning & just added the egg wash. DEEEEELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This Breakfast Torte was excellent and picture perfect. I made it in a 9" springform pan. It is well worth the effort. I didn't find it to be difficult. I made it on Friday evening and baked it on Sunday morning for my mother's birthday. It got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was great even though I had to improvise some of the ingredients. I didnt have ham so i used my hickory smoked bacon (that I always cook on a plate with newspaper to catch the grease in the microwave for ten minutes also I cover it too). I didnt have the puff pastry crust so i used 2 - 7.5 ounce cans of buttermilk refrigerator biscuits in a can. I didnt have parsley so i used just a dash of basil which I love in eggs. I didnt have the right pan so used a deep glass rectangle casserole dish. JEEZ i guess I didnt have much I should have lol! I used hashbrowns and diced onions. I lowered the temp to 300 so I wouldnt overcook the refrigerator biscuits and eye balled the time. Also since I was using a rectangular baking dish I just pulled apart the omelet and puzzled it back together. It was alot of work but that means alot of love to me so I had fun with it. It is beautiful Fun and ooh so tasty Even my picky boyfriend loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angielovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was super easy to make and looked like it took hours! A nice way to impress my in laws on Easter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meaghan Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States