Brunch Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Very good but my suggestion as to why they may not turn out well...make sure that the enchiladas and wrapped tightly and that the egg mixture almost covers over them completely. If there is too much tortilla sticking out, they will burn on top as previous complaints have stated, while the inside tastes just fine. The first time I made this recipe, the top of my tortillas didn't burn but got semi-hard after cooking. They were still good enough for me to try again and the second time, after making sure that it was mostly covered with the egg mixture, they turned out REALLY GOOD. I also added more cheese in the mixture. This is a good recipe but it is one that takes practice to make perfect. Hopefully, readers will take this suggestion into account and try them. They are worth it and my family now requests them regularly. (I even made them for dinner once and used a variety of mexican toppings to complete the meal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
If I could have rated this recipe higher than 5 stars, I would have. This is by far the best breakfast meal I have ever made. EVERYONE loved it. We had a birthday party and had the family over for brunch. I found this recipe when I was looking for something different to make. We all love breakfast burritos and thought this would be good. I was getting tired of the same old breakfast casseroles. I used some ideas that some of your other users had. I added 1 Tbl of green chilis AND jalapenos into the ham mixture. I did not want to use too much in case it got too hot. I used a mixture of cheese I found (Kraft) that was cheddar and jack cheese with jalapeno mixed in. I also used red pepper along with the green. I made sure I poured the egg mixture over all the enchiladas so they were completly wet. I covered them with foil and cooked them for 50 minutes. I removed the foil and sprinkled the top with more cheese and put them back in the oven without the foil until the cheese melted and bubbled. I served them with sour cream, salsa, the left over jalepenos and green chilis - Bacon, sausage and hash browns on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I substituted 1/2 lb bulk sausage (browned and drained) for the ham, added 16 oz frozen hashbrowns (sauteed them and the onions with the cooked sausage), added more onions to the tortilla filling. I also added one more egg, salt and pepper, and another cup of cheese on top of the casserole. I baked for 45 min covered with foil, removed the foil for 15 more minutes. When the casserole came out of the oven, I sprinkled with more green onions and dollops of Pace Picante Sauce. It looked beautiful with all the different colors and tasted divine! I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this for some friends. The pan was so huge I'd figured we'd leftovers... nope! Evey last enchilada was gone! I made a few "updates" to the recipie: *Corn tortillas as I think they have a better taste than flour toritllas *Country sausage instead of ham *1 Extra egg *Extra seasoning and hotsauce to give it more of a "kick" *I used Red and Yellow Bell Peppers and left out the Green Bell Pepper. *Added Sauted Onion I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This is a favorite, but the recipe's portions are really big, unless you are feeding people with huge appetites. I have served this a few tmes, and have always found that about 3/4 of one enchilada satisfies an adult. Because dish is quite dense, serve it with something light, like a fruit salad. Lastly, because the dish is covered in cheese before baking, you will have great trouble finding each of the enchiladas when you are ready to serve. Avoid this problem by marking the location of each enchilada with toothpicks before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Wonderful dish. Enjoyed by all at a brunch this morning. Read all reviews and incorporated some of the suggestions: replaced red pepper for the green, added a small can of diced green chilies, replaced Jimmy Dean breakfast sausages (crumbled and browned) for the ham, used half shredded cheddar and half shredded pepper jack. Delicious, rich, satisfying. Served with mild salsa. Will also have available sour cream and guacamole the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made this dish for my in-laws at Christmas and a church group and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I was so glad that I could prepare it the night before and I did incorporate many of the suggestions others gave. I used Jimmy Dean sausage and added chli powder while it cooked. I mixed in chopped green onion, chopped bell pepper and a can of green chilis (a must). I used both cheddar and Kraft Mexican cheddar jack cheese in the tortillas. To the egg mixture I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, chili powder, salt, pepper, cumin and cilantro along with the hot pepper sauce. I sprinkled some of the sausage mix around the tortillas and after it set over night I did add a bit more egg/milk/cream mix to the top with a sprinkle of cheese. I covered with foil while it cooked and had no problems. This tasted fantastic with salsa and sour cream and the leftovers were great re-heated. When I made this a third time I did find that using less than 6 eggs and too much cheese made the consistency a little too runny/gooey for my taste. Overall a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Huge hit on Christmas morning with my family. It was gone -- completely. As for the problem some wrote about the top getting crisp, i just made sure to cover it with aluminum foil while baking. I served with a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very good, with the addition of a dash of cumin, a teaspoon of chili powder and of cilantro, 1/2 t salt and a couple grinds of pepper. I increased the hot pepper to three shakes and added a small can of green chili's. I made it in a 10x15 greased pyrex with 6" corn tortillas. Had to whisk up one more egg with cream to add to cover the tortillas. (I would have given it 5 but I'm not crazy about ham - made it just to use up the leftovers.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipe was a hug hit!!! My mother, who hates anything remotely mexican, went back for seconds!! This is definetely our new Christmas morning dish. Just one thing to add, I did cover it half way through cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States