Brunch Egg Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I tried this for the first time and served it to friends for a Christmas brunch. It was a huge hit! I made a few changes -- different cheeses, and a little less than called for; no mushrooms, additional peppers and green onions -- and prepared it the night before so it was ready to bake in the morning. Everyone loved it, and I will definitely try it again. Next time, I'd like to add a layer of spinach. This recipe is super versatile, and lends itself to simple changes to suit personal tastes, or available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was a good one. I did cut the cheese by two cups (one casserole certainly doesn't need 6 cups and neither do my hips!) and cut the parsley to 1.5 T and it was still plenty. Very pretty presentation of you cut in rows and then on the diagonal and stack at an ange on the plate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I took a chance on making this because it has no reviews yet, and I like to choose my recipes by the ratings sometimes. It turned out wonderful! I always like to stick to the recipe, but I'm not a big fan of ham, so I used linguica, which gave it so much flavor. It was really excellent! I did follow the recipe exactly besides the ham, and this was so good! I had 7 guests over for brunch and they all loved it!! Thanks so much for the recipe! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This past football season, we did a lot of Brunches / Breakfasts, and this was the one item that kept repeating itself. The best part about this recipe, is it's versatility. I played with this each time I made it. Switching up meat, adding this veggie, tossing in that spice. Then, I started making "Crusts" (so far, the most well received was the bag o' shredded hash browns and butter, baked prior to adding the egg mixture). Try this one! Run with it. Make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I've been making this breakfast casserole for years. It is one of my most requested recipes. I normally assemble the casserole the night before keeping the egg mixture separate. In the morning I give the egg mixture a good beating and then pour over casserole before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Bird
Home Town: Teton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this for a brunch I had the other day and it was tasty. I dont eat ham so I omitted it and added extra red peppers, which made me a little worried that it would change the consistency, but it didnt. I would defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugr515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
It was excellent. Made for company and my mother told me to "save this one". So this means excellent in my opinion! Replaced actual onions with onion flakes and used fresh mushrooms instead. I would used a smaller baking pan rather than the 13" x 9" as it made recipe look flat and not too appealing until you bit into it. To fatten it up, I'd use the next smallest baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Awesome! I made minor alterations. Used diced turkey sausage instead of ham. Omitted the mushrooms. Sauteed the onions and peppers with the sausage. Added as second layer over cheese. Added garlic powder to the egg/milk mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I gotta say that I was pretty impressed. I halved the recipe and wish I wouldn't have! Even my toddler enjoyed it! I omitted the mushrooms, used pepper jack and sharp cheddar cheese and enjoyed this quiche-like dish without the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was so colorful and is such a great base for an egg bake. I used a little less cheese, bacon, peppers (green and red), onions (yellow and green), and mushrooms. It was delicious and gone in seconds. When I made it a second time I used chorizo, some jalenpenos, jack cheese, onions, tomatoes, and potatoes with salsa on the side and it made an awesome TexMex egg bake. There are so many options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States