Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Great recipe!! Prepared it for 18 people at family brunch. Most asked for recipe. I prepared it the night before and that worked well. I'd make this one again. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I liked this one a lot. I used brown rice, cooking it about 40 minutes. Also, the chilis are a must, I think, for this recipe. Without them it might be a bit bland. It only took about 30 minutes in the oven, not an hour, as the "cook time" says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This was OK... too salty (and I only used a pinch of salt. This is definitely not a 2-helping dish. If I do make this again, I may add diced green chiles to the egg mixture and use a mexi-melt cheese combination (even mild cheddar was a bit "much" in this recipe); a more mild, creamy cheese might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peralta, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Delicious! Prep some of the steps ahead of time. Serve it with spicy chorizo or linguica for a little more kick. Everyone who tries this asks for the recipe. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
GREAT recipe!! I added a rib and a half of celery and three cloves of garlic to the onions and rice and then added fresh parsley and oregano as well. I doubled the sauce recipe and instead of chicken broth, I used white wine for a nice little extra flavor. Instead of salt and pepper in it, I used Adobo seasoning. In the layering I added cooked breakfast sausage. I used Monterey Jack and Swiss cheese and the whole casserole (I put it in a square pan instead) came out FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vadergirl52

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Recipe turned out very dry and bland, and the rice was too dominant in the taste. Tried a second helping and put hot sauce on and it still wasn't good. Maybe doubling the gravy, and spicing it up would help. As is will never make again. The eggs also seemed to get "rubbery"? Not very good at all. Sorry, everyone else seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I added 1 lb browned sage sausage in the layers and mixed my green chilis with the rice and it is even better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Made this recipe for a teacher breakfast,,, everyone wanted the recipe! Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I use fewer eggs and add some chicken, then mix in some frozen mixed veggies to make an easy weekend supper that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArcticNemo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States