Brunch Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I thought this was very good and would definitely make it again. They only change I would make is to use a little less brown sugar. I definitely could taste the brown sugar. Otherwise, for a quick and easy baked French toast, this one's hard to beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmsabo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibbon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
What an easy recipe and SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Really liked this recipe but next time will add 1/2 tsp real vanilla to the egg/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This tasted very good. The only problem I had was that there was not enough egg/milk mixture to saturate the bread, so after I baked it, it was kind of crunchy. It seemed like there was way too much bread and not enough milk/egg to coat it. Maybe I bought the wrong kind of bread or didn't cut it thin enough. I don't know. I would make this again, but I think I would double the number of eggs and the amount of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Only thing I had to do differently was increase the amount of milk/egg/salt combo - I ended up doing it with 5 eggs, 1.5 cups milk and 3/4 teaspoon of salt. Additionally, I baked it for about 38 minutes and sprinkled powdered sugar on top just before serving. We served with syrup and butter, but honestly didn't need it. This tastes wonderful and only takes about 5-10 minutes to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This turned out great. I will let you know that I just eyeballed the ingredients and didn't measure and it still turned out great. Like other reviewers, I increased the amount of egg. All three of my small children liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This french toast doesn't really need syrup- the caramelized effect from the butter & brown sugar is delicious! We used thick multi-grain bread and cinnamon sugar for the top. It worked beautifully and we can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bein5
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Quick and easy and LOVED that we had 16 sliced all ready at the same time! We did up the egg/milk mixture as other reviews suggested and sprinkled with powdered sugar before serving and found it sweet enough to not need to add syrup. DELICIOUS!!! Increasing the oven temp to 375 helped with the final texture go from a bit mushy to nicely toasted. We may even add some banana slices between the brown sugar and bread layers next time for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My family and I love this recipe!! It was on the crispy side which is just how we love it. We don't care for it soft/mushy/soggy. This was perfect. Made two pans of it. Froze the extras. Reheated them in the toaster oven and was just as yummy as the day I made them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Baked too long, too crunchy 5/12/13 after cancer walk @ Diane's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States