Brunch Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FOOD4LOVE
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I really liked this recipe and will definitely do french toast like this again. Saves the time of cooking them up individually for sure. I did use 5 eggs and 1 1/2 cups of milk and added some vanilla to that. I do personally think it needed this extra as other reviewers had suggested. I did have to bake it longer to get it a little crisp on top but that could be due to the added milk and eggs. Also the only thing I would change otherwise is decreasing the brown sugar and possibly the butter as it was very sweet on it's own and I would prefer to add some maple syrup on the plate and it was too sweet already to do that. A very easy and decadent french toast though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I decided to make it because I wanted all the people to eat at the same time and not have to keep pieces warm in the oven as I made them. I didn't care for this, too crunchy on the bottom after baking for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Great as it is! Would be good to add apples or other fruit too. It is very sweet, more like a dessert/donut. My Daughter's friend said it was the best french toast she's ever had! We also tried some with strawberry sauce on top, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this dish this morning and I must say it was very YUMMY not to sweet but sweet enough. I definitely will be making this again. I told my wife we should open up a bed and breakfast but only served breakfast lol ppl would love this. waking up to smell of cinnamon warms the heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Five stars all day. I added almond extract to the mixture, and these were the best French toast my wife and I have ever eaten. I won't make normal French toast ever again. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've made this three times now. The first and times, I followed the directions except I added the cinnamon to the milk mixture. The third time, I used coconut milk, and I added pecans to the bottom layer. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Absolutely positively amazing! Made it for Christmas morning breakfast...everyone loved it. Only thing I added was drizzled pure maple syrup on bread after it was out of the oven. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I did need more egg/milk mixture but no big deal! I didn't have to make it the night before - bonus! It's easy and fast & my family loved it! Perfect for a cold December Sunday morning breakfast! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I actually made this with gourmet hot dog buns we had left over... added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract to the egg mixture and baked it for the full 30 minutes. It was DELICIOUS and my fiancee and his son ate it all! It is definitely a keeper. The top was a little crunchy, which we liked, and the rest was not soggy but a perfect combo for french toast. I think there may have been a bit too much butter for my liking so I'll reduce that a bit next time. We baked it in a 9 X 13 glass baking dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Pryhorocki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It is rare when we don't have a loaf of French Bread lurking around so this is right up my alley. It was just a bit stale...perfect! Turned out firm but nice and moist inside. I would not change a thing, the sugar coated side is almost carmelised and we just topped it with a bit of powdered sugar. This is now my go to recipe for French toast for brunches...so, so easy and so, so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States