Bruce's Honey Sesame Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is more nutty than a regular honey bread. A medium heavy bread with outstanding flavor. Toasting the sesame seeds is a must. We added a Tbsp extra honey. So far this is our favorite bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very nice bread! I made just the dough in the bread machine, then baked the rest of the way in the oven. I subbed 1 cup of ww flour in for the white flour and it turned out great. Very nutty and wholesome. A little too many sesame seeds for me, so I'd cut them down next time and maybe sub in a few other seeds, but otherwise I enjoyed this bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious...wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I normally make my breads by hand. I proofed the yeast in 3/4 cup of warm water along with the honey. Since I did not have any powdered buttermilk I replaced that with 3/4 cup of regular buttermilk. The total combined equaled 1 1/4 cup of liquid the recipe calls for. I used 3 T of wheat germ. I found the dough to be slighty wet so I added almost 1/3 cup of bread flour, but a little at a time to the dough until it was much easier to knead and handle. I let it rise for an hour under a damp towel. I then punched it down,let it rise again a while longer before placing it into a loaf pan. I baked the bread at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. The top was a nice golden brown color and I could smell a nice aroma coming the bread. I took it out from the oven to let it cool for about 20 mins. I cut a slice while it was still warm. The bread is nice and crusty on the outside and chewy. The inside of the bread is very soft, light and slightly sweet, but not too sweet. The bread is moist and flavorful with a subtle sweetness. The sesame definitely gives the bread a wonderful nutty flavor. The honey adds a nice slight sweetness to the bread. I think the bread could have been baked a little longer as the bread was a little doughy towards the center. The recipe doesn't indicate a baking time w/o bread machine. So next time I will bake it about 40-45 minutes. Overall the bread tasted really good. I served along with, "Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad, " also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The first time I made this the sesame seeds must have been burnt because it made it have a weird flavor . So I made it again and didn't toast the sesame seeds, and it came out great! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this using my stand mixer, so I proofed my yeast in 1/2 cup warm water and the honey. I replaced the balance of the liquid with 3/4 cup of buttermilk since I didn't have the powder. I replaced the wheat bran with wheat germ and also added 3 tbs of grounf flax seed. I allowed it to rise after kneading to a soft, slightly sticky dough then formed my loaf and allowed that to rise. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350. It smelled wonderful as it baked and we loved the slightly sweet, nutty flavor. This bread is good for sandwiches or toast as well as to accompany soup. Thanks for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
found it a little heavy but once i toasted it with butter it was great,thanks we will be doing this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I just tried this bread and it is delicious! I made one small change to it ...added about 1/2 c dry roasted sunflower seeds. Could hardly wait for it to cool off enough to cut into it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe said, and my loaf rose beautifully, then fell in the middle. One side burned slightly, and while the outside rose prerfectly, the middle sunk till it was only about 2 inches tall. Taste was great. Not sure what went wrong though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My initial rating was not a 5 star rating. My initial rating was based on the difference between what I thought about the recipe and what my husband thought about it. I must admit that I did not think the bread was nearly as good as he did. However, because he rather liked it, I have made this bread a couple more times since I rated it and feel the need to change my original rating. My bread machine overcooks the bread on the recommended setting. As this is the lowest setting on my machine, I keep and eye on it and turn it off about 20 minutes before the cycle is done. As such the results, and the bread, is much better. I have been toasting this bread for sandwiches or to serve with soup. While I did not think it was anything special simply sliced and eaten, I absolutely LOVE this bread toasted. Toasted, it makes great sandwiches and makes a wonderful side to soup. This evening, I am making another loaf. I am going to save some of it to make croutons. While I am convinced this will make great croutons, I will let you all know how it works out. Thanks Bruce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States