Brownies with Peanut Butter Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I didn't have peanut butter chips, but I did have swirled milk chocolate and peanut butter chips and what a happy surprise that turned out to be! After tasting these I know I will always make the frosting this way! I also replaced 1/4 c. of the butter with 1/4 c. peanut butter and let me tell you, the result was this beautiful, gooey "stuff" that looked like caramel ice cream topping. Thinking the brownies could use a little garnish or decoration, I sprinkled more of the swirled milk chocolate and peanut butter chips over the top. So pretty! Taste is what really matters, however, so I cut myself a tiny piece to "test" them and man oh man, what another happy surprise! I didn't expect them to be THAT good! This milk chocolatey, peanut buttery frosting sets up nicely in the refrigerator but is still gooey, and is the perfect finish on the chewy, fudgey brownie beneath. That "taste" was so darn good it ended up being the equivalent of two brownies. My only criticism is that the title doesn't do these deliciously decadent brownies justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I made these for my boyfriend's birthday (he LOVES peanut butter). He rated this as a 4 star brownie. I did add a healthy dollop of peanut butter to the frosting to make sure it had a nice peanut flavor. I like these best when they're cold because the peanut butter isn't so overwhelming, but bf likes them better warm. **UPDATE** I had to change this to 5 stars because my boyfriend took these to work and his coworkers said they would pay me to make these again this week. If a bunch of grown men offer to pay $20 for a brownie, it's gotta be a 5 star. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
I had read the reviews for this recipe and was a little worried about making it, but they sounded so good that I decided to try anyway. I put them in the refridgerator right after I put the frosting on top of the brownies. In a couple of hours, it was hard. They were absolutely delicious, and not at all gooey. I will definately make these again, and they were so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
After reading over the ingredient list, I realized that these brownies have to be refridgerated. They turn out great everytime, the topping is soft and creamy, and it holds up well when cut with a knife. They make a great presentation at a party. The other reviewers obviously didn't realize that when chocolate chips, butter and sweetened condensed milk cool in the refridgerator that they harden a bit. This is not a "sloppy mess".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
These were good but *very* rich. I also recommend making a 13x9 inch pan of brownies because the topping makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Okay...for anyone else who makes this mistake, I wasn't paying close attention to the directions and I added the sweetened condensed milk to the peanut butter chips and butter right at the beginning of heating on the stove, but it turned out just fine! I took these to a friends house for dinner and everyone loved them! I added a 1/2 cup each of peanut butter and semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter and I also added about 1/2 cup of peanut butter to the frosting like others suggested. They turned out GREAT! Before I added the peanut butter to the frosting, it was way too sweet, but the peanut butter made it just right. The frosting turns hard once it's in the fridge but it's still SO good. We also tried heating a brownie in the microwave for about 20 seconds and the frosting melted just a little and dripped down the sides of the brownie...SO GOOD! I will definitely make these again! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I loved this frosting. I did not however put it on brownies. I made the frosting for a chocolate cake and I had no left overs. I did make a slight change though. I added 1 1/2 - 2 cups of peanut butter chips and just dumped it on top of a chocolate cake that was still in baking dish. The frosting will ooze down the sides of dish. This is a great peanut butter frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I did not have peanut butter chips so I used 1 cup of peanut butter instead. They were great! Many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Love the frosting. I used 1 cup peanut butter chips, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 can of sweetened condensed milk and it worked out perfectly. After it chilled for a few hours it cut fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
A good recipe. I added 1 cup of chips to the batter. For the frosting, I omitted the butter. After frosting, I placed the brownies in the refridgerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States