Brownies In A Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I'm testing in-a-jar recipes for Christmas and these are not one of my top choices...Very easy to make, and very moist, but bland tasting. Nobody in my family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Chrishel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Delicious! Chewy, Chocolatey & easy to make. Recipe makes a full 9"X13" pan of eauql size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
addition idea: get a small plastic bag and fill it with sprinkles. attach it to the back of the directions and lable the bag "LOVE" . on the last step of the directions, put: Remove from over and sprinkle it with Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
These are excellent! I don't care for nuts in my brownies, so I substituted peanut butter chips and chocolate chips instead. * Be sure your jar will hold 32 oz. before you begin - or you will not be able to fit all ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made these for a Red Cross event and they were a hit. While warm out of the oven,I added a bit of powdered sugar to the top, which is how I remember them as a child. The only difficulty I had was fitting all the ingredients in a jar as a gift. I found that pounding the jar on a carpeted floor settles each section nicely to fit the rest of the ingredients in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
My Brownie troop made these this year for gifts to give, this is the 2nd year with this type of project. The kids loved it and was easy for them to do. Recipes in a jar is now a tradition with my scout troops. The girls are comming back saying they loved how they cooked up. Some even got to cook with their Dad's!!!!!!! I am asked for the full recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I had a Christmas cookie party. I had my friends come over and make this mix to give away to family and friends for the holidays. We put the mix in large ziploc bags and placed it inside an oven mitt. This worked out great and everyone just raved about how great the brownies were and how they kept them for themselves. This is now apart of our holiday traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Just made this recipe to test it out for holiday gifts. It's easy on the recipient, works great and tastes great. I cut the sugar to 2 cups as some others did, and added 1/2 c. chocolate chips instead of nuts. My kids actually thought less chips would be better so I'll probably go with 1/3 c. next time. And melt the butter/marg before adding...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe was okay,not fantastic! my husband hasn't even touched them. That is usually a good indicator. I did add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips instead of nuts, I can't imagine how they would have turned out had I not added those. The flavor just doesn't have any umpft! plus they are too cake like, we like ours oohy and goohy, These need less eggs, and maybe bakers chocolate, and also maybe some different sort of chocolate chips. A good recipe if you like to experiment with different things but not good for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States