Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were very blah and not worth the calories! I wish I had read other reviewers first but went ahead because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was an oily mess that baked up looking like they would be great but tasted bland and not enough chocolate flavor at all. My daughter(who eats any sweet made) suggested we throw them out! Move on to a better recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and only used one cup of oil and one teaspoon of salt. I also used this recipe to introduce my "tween" son to Cooking 101 since the ingredients were simple and easy to measure. The brownies turned out marvelous and my son was proud of his creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I would rate this lower if I could. I left out some of the oil as suggested and even with that change, they were an oily blob as a dough - you wouldn't even need to grease the pan, I swear!! After cooked, they looked like brownies but they were nearly inedible. Tasteless, unless you count grease. You'd have to ice these to make them better and even then, it's not worth it. I wish I would have listened to the reviewer that told me to move on to another recipe! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow, good taste and texture, extremely popular with youngsters as a treat. Though only half the amonut of salt was needed, as suggested in previous review. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
These definitely didn't turn out how I expected. There was so much oil that they came out tough on the inside and crispy on the outside. They were not soft and chewy at all. They were not very sweet and you could taste the salt and baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Sorry this was a greasy awful mess and I do not recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-mod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
WOW! This is exactly what the chocolate doctor ordered! These are chewy in the middle, crispy on the outside and full of chocolately goodness! And, they are made with what I usually have on hand in the pantry! I made two small adjustments; I added another 1/4 cup of cocoa...and I added a good slurp of vanilla. And had I read a previous reviewer, I also would have cut the salt to one teaspoon. All things considered a fantastic basic brownie recipe that makes a good sized pan of very delicious brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'd like to give this 3.5, but oh well. These were pretty tasty... but all I can smell is all of the OIL that went into them! No chocolatey aroma that's usually present when I make brownies... just oil. Granted, I was trying to find a recipe that didn't call for butter since I was out, but still. Anyway, the brownies themselves weren't too incredibly oily... it was just a weird disconnect between the oil smell in the air and the taste, which was actually pretty good. The texture was just right, and I baked them for about 25 minutes. I also added some caramel on top after they'd been cooking for a few minutes, and swirled it in. I followed other users' recommendations and used less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I picked this recipe because it only had a few ingredients and I wanted to make something sweet for my husband even though the pantry is looking pretty pathetic. I made the following changes: I halved the salt as recommended by other reviewers. I used self rising flour (all I had on hand), so I skipped the baking powder. I added a capful of vanilla extract. I used Canola oil instead of Vegetable. I have to say that the amount of oil was a little alarming as was the sugar, but nobody said they were supposed to be healthy. I baked them in a greased (cooking spray) 9x13 glass baking dish for 50 minutes. Final thought: They were pretty good. I liked the chewy/crunchy outside, but the inside was a little too cake-like. (Which could be my fault due to the self rising flour.) ... They didn't have a strong chocolate taste to me but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
These brownies are delicious and sooo very simple, the next time i make them though, i am going to reduce the oil by a quarter of a cup and i think that they will be better, i also plan on adding choc. cream cheese icing- they will be rich but mmmmmm DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States