Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
It baked up nice, but is more cake like than brownie like. So 3 for recipe as a brownie; 4.5 for a chocolate cake. I used a Devils food cake mix and added 1/4 cup greek yogart because it sounded a bit dry. Then when mixing it looked a little light in color, so I added 2 Tablespoons Dark Cocoa Powder. Then added 1/4 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips. We like Chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I used a reg ninety nine cent chocolate cake mix...non german-...one egg instead; of two hoping it would be more chewy....had to add 1/4 c. water.. mixed with electric mixer for a min or so...baked @ 325 in a glass pan for 25 min....still chewy...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Works great in a pinch. I used a Duncan Hines Decadent German Chocolate cake mix to make this, because I had one on hand. After mixing the first three things, I put in the cake mix and the pecan/coconut mix. It was so dry that I had to add 1/2 cup of water, and then about 1/3 of milk too just to get it to a consistency that I could get it out of the bowl and into the pan. They came out of the oven more cake like than brownie like, but after I dusted them with powdered sugar they looked great. They went fast at the church dinner today and my nephew said he ate three and loved them. I prefer a homemade German Chocolate cake, which is so fattening I only make one at Christmas, so I wasn't crazy about these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rock Island, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I've been looking for a way to make easy brownies from cake mix, since all of the brownie mixes have hydrogenated oils. Sure enough, this recipe w/ Devil's Food cake mix was excellent! (I substituted walnuts for chocolate chips and used egg whites instead of eggs.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN5502

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
i will save this recipe as a base recipe but there was not enough liquid in the recipe-it was too thick like tar-the second time i tried this I added a 1/2 cup water and this seemed to do the trick. Thanks for the brownie recipe. It's nice to have cake mix recipes that are quick and easy for last minute events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was just fair. It wasn't brownie-like at all; just like thin cake. We wanted to make brownie fudge sundaes but didn't have the ingredients for scratch brownies or a mix. I used a chocolate cake mix instead of the german chocolate that was called for. The kids liked them. My husband and I thought they were just passable. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very, very good! I made two changes to the recipe: I added 1/4 cup of milk, and about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I baked them for 25 minutes and they were perfect - moist and chewy in the middle with a slight crunch at the edges. Definitely something I'll do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this recipe using a super moist yellow cake mix and chocolate chips in place of nuts. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
After reading other comments, I added 1 cup sour cream and after sreading the mix in the pan I pressed 1/2 cup choc chips into the top of the batter. cooked 25 min and were perfect. Don't expect a real dense bar, but very good with or without the traditional coconut-pecan frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I tried this recipe to send to my daughter's class at school after discovering that she had used the last box of brownie mix form the pantry. I was not pleased and did not want to send them to the school. They were quite dry and didn't have the "brownie taste". I ended up buying store made brownies to take to her class. Next time I will run out for brownie mix or try one of the from scratch recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States