Brownies-Allergy Free! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I read the reviews before I made these brownies. The major complaint by others was that it had to much oil. So I only put 1 cup if oil and I added 1 Tbsp. Vanilla, 1/2 cup Chocolate Chips, and 1/2 but chopped walnuts. These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
We are on a food elimination diet and are searching for anything dairy/soy/corn/peanut/wheat free! These were awesome! I did as others suggested and cut back the oil to 3/4c. and added 1/2c applesauce and 1/4c water to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this recipe for someone who can't have refined sugar, so I substituted 2 cups honey in the liquid mix for the 2 cups sugar in the dry mix. I also used one cup of oil as suggested by other reviews, and because I substituted honey I removed about 1/2 cup of liquid from the well-combined banana, oil, and honey mixture. With these changes the batch still turned out pretty delicious! Thanks for a great recipe for those who can't usually have tasty baked goods. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Next time I'm trying half oil/half applesauce and I'm cutting back the amount of sugar. I also baked them for an extra 10 minutes. I made them for my 3.5 yr old and he LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I didn't have much luck with this recipe. It looked like it had way too much oil in it. It bubbled oil in the oven and never close to a point where it was dry on top, even after an exra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I read the reviews before trying this recipe, and did cut the oil down to 1 cup. I baked them in mini muffin tins. They turned out very good! One of my children has many allergies and this recipe is definitely being added to our "make it again mom!" list. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
okay, no brownie that does not contain eggs or gluten is going to taste like the real thing, so I wasn't expecting them too. These did come out rather tasty though. I did cut back the oil to 1 cup and used 1/2 cup applesauce. it was not too oily this way, but next time I may sub even more applesauce to make them a little healthier. we've tried these with and without chocolate chips and the chocolate chips version wins hands down! If chocolate is a problem, you can also make these with carob powder which is usually found in health food stores and some grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
My 4 year old son loves these brownies. I altered the recipe by using half the oil and 3/4 cup applesause in place of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Could be REALLY good, if there wasn't as much oil, am going to use flax seed &/or apple sauce as a substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Considering these were allergy free they were GREAT!! However there was way too much oil in them. After I baked them, I cut them into individual pieces and placed them on paper towels to see if the paper towels would absorb some of the grease. Two days later and I'm still replacing the paper towels they're sitting on. Next time I'll cut down on the oil, otherwise these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States