Brownies-Allergy Free! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I didn't have much luck with this recipe. It looked like it had way too much oil in it. It bubbled oil in the oven and never close to a point where it was dry on top, even after an exra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I think this recipe must be missing something. I tried it and the oil just sat on the top and edges of it. It also had a very distinct banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I read the reviews before I made these brownies. The major complaint by others was that it had to much oil. So I only put 1 cup if oil and I added 1 Tbsp. Vanilla, 1/2 cup Chocolate Chips, and 1/2 but chopped walnuts. These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Could be REALLY good, if there wasn't as much oil, am going to use flax seed &/or apple sauce as a substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Next time I'm trying half oil/half applesauce and I'm cutting back the amount of sugar. I also baked them for an extra 10 minutes. I made them for my 3.5 yr old and he LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
this recipe didnt work for me, it didnt even go liquidy when i was meant to put it int the oven, it was just all lumpy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I read the reviews before trying this recipe, and did cut the oil down to 1 cup. I baked them in mini muffin tins. They turned out very good! One of my children has many allergies and this recipe is definitely being added to our "make it again mom!" list. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I'm sorry but these brownies were horrible! The texture, taste....pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
pretty good for allergy free. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1 cup of oil, 1 half cup of applesauce. the batter was hard to work with because it was so thick but it still tasted good :) the bananas added a nice touch. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this recipe for someone who can't have refined sugar, so I substituted 2 cups honey in the liquid mix for the 2 cups sugar in the dry mix. I also used one cup of oil as suggested by other reviews, and because I substituted honey I removed about 1/2 cup of liquid from the well-combined banana, oil, and honey mixture. With these changes the batch still turned out pretty delicious! Thanks for a great recipe for those who can't usually have tasty baked goods. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States