Brownies-Allergy Free! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
far too much oil & sugar, replaced half amount of oil with soya milk but used recommended sugar. Next time will reduce sugar too. Consistency great, quick & easy to do and will definately use again..great as I don't eat wheat or dairy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Just made these. Yummy! Not the same as gooey scrummy original brownies so keep that in mind but for wheat, dairy and egg free they are delicious!! I did replace half the oil with applesauce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
It seemed like it was missing something, it just tasted very very oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I haven't tried it yet, but I just want to say, Finally! Somebody else who has corn allergies besides my Dad, Grandma, and Aunt! It has stars because this thing made me do it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Based on other reviews, I altered the recipe: Used only 3/4 C oil, then added 1/2 C applesauce, 1/4 C water to compensate, and 1 Tbs vanilla and 1/2 C chopped walnuts for better flavor. I also increased the baking temperature to 350 degrees, like most brownie recipes call for. Otherwise, it takes way too long to bake. These are scrumptious, especially if you frost them with mocha frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I only used 1 cup of oil, 1/2 cup sugar 1/2 cup honey and 1 cup stevia in the raw. I sprinkled toffie pices on top. They came out more cake like than brownie like so next time im going to try it with the 1 1/2 cup oil and i could taste the banana but i didnt mind it. All and all they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I replaced the sugar in this recipe with honey to reduce the processed ingredient content. It was kind of terrible. My husband ate it, but I couldn't. It was like horse treats. I may make this again and add some adjustments, but that would take away the point of it being allergy-free. too bad. it was a nice idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I've been searching for a good brownie recipe since my family was diagnosed with a variety of food intolerances. I'll have to keep searching--I even reduced the oil by half, as per many suggestions. But the brownies were still practically inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Considering these were allergy free they were GREAT!! However there was way too much oil in them. After I baked them, I cut them into individual pieces and placed them on paper towels to see if the paper towels would absorb some of the grease. Two days later and I'm still replacing the paper towels they're sitting on. Next time I'll cut down on the oil, otherwise these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
okay, no brownie that does not contain eggs or gluten is going to taste like the real thing, so I wasn't expecting them too. These did come out rather tasty though. I did cut back the oil to 1 cup and used 1/2 cup applesauce. it was not too oily this way, but next time I may sub even more applesauce to make them a little healthier. we've tried these with and without chocolate chips and the chocolate chips version wins hands down! If chocolate is a problem, you can also make these with carob powder which is usually found in health food stores and some grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States