Brownie Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I think the reason for the poor reviews is that people don't know what a "Pudding" is. A "Pudding" is a dense, rich cake. Sometimes with it's own sauce baked in. This is supposed to be cake like on top and have a sauce beneath it. Let it cool before eating and the sauce gets thicker. Serving it with ice cream or custard will cut down on the sweetness if you don't like your desserts sweet. I think the person who got a "salty" result may have used baking soda instead of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
We really liked this. Based on some other reviews I did modify this slightly and got terrific results. The cake part was the same but I reduced the sugar and water to 3/4 cup each for the 'pudding'. I used light brown sugar and got a thick pudding consistancy under the brownie. It baked in a convection oven for 35 minutes and I did let it cool and served it warm! Forget about leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I had a happy accident with this recipe. Half way through mixing it up I realized I only had a half cup of brown sugar left in the house. So I used it and a half cup of water and hoped for the best. Gooey underneath, a brownie crust on top, there wasn't any of the wateriness that people complained about. I made it in a round cake pan and it was so good! I think I'll probably make it like this again in the future. I used dutch processed cocoa too so it came out very dark and deliciously chocolatey. Will be perfect with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was absolutely delicious and perfect for my pregnant chocolate craving!! I have to say though that I tasted the batter and added more cocoa. One tablespoon cocoa just wasn't enough. I ended up with 3 tablespoons cocoa in the brownie batter and 2 in the brown sugar mixture. It came out very pudding like and was just delicious. The only other little change I made was to use butter instead of shortening because it's what I had. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Oh my gosh! This certainly took care of any chocolate cravings I'll have for a long time. I quadrupled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 stoneware baker to take to a card game get together. It took a little longer to bake than the recipe indicated, but the results were soooooo good with vanilla ice cream. I will definitely be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tasted a little bit baking-powdery to my husband. I took the advice of others and used more chocolate powder in the brown sugar mixture, used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup water. It was very good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Excellent, elegant, easy dessert, especially served with vanilla ice cream. I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to batter (along with an extra tablespoon of butter) and to pudding mixture for a deep, rich chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I like a thicker sauce to the pudding, so I reduce the water and brown sugar to 1/2 cup of each and I double the cocoa (4T in all). I also sprinkle chocolate chips on top of the batter before I pour the water mixture for extra chocolatey-ness. This needs only 30 minutes to bake. Easy to make vegan with soy milk. I also omit the nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was great!! I did make a few changes as suggested by other reviewers, decreasing the brown sugar to 3/4 C. and water to 1/2 C. (used hot coffee) and increasing the cocoa powder in both parts to 2Tbl. I also subbed 1/4 C. Splenda sugar blend for the 1/2 C. white sugar. If you let it set for about 30 min. after baking, the "pudding" part will set up and not be runny. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I always try to make healthier versions of recipes but a lot of the time, they just don't taste that great. I'm so glad I found this recipe! It worked out perfectly. I took some of the other reviewers advice and added more cocoa but cut down on the brown sugar and boiling water (I used coffee as well). They're good on their own but they're even better with just a little bit of vanilla ice cream! Thanks for the great recipe Lynda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States