Brownie Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
First I'd like to say this desert is a bit rich, but it tastes better when mixed with vanilla ice cream. Now, this is the second time I've made this and I ate right out of the pan and mixed my ice cream into it. Well, I didn't finish it, obviously, there's no way I could have eaten all that. But since there was ice cream sludge in it I wanted to keep it from rotting so I put it in an old ice cream bucket and stuffed it in the freezer. It never fully solidified, and tastes kinda like ice cream now! Totally freezing this whenever I make it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is by far the weirdest thing I have ever made. I didn't have any eggs, but the man wanted dessert, so I intended to deliver. Boo. The dough was much more like a paste, and the boiling sugar water you pour over the top was totally liquid, as expected. The directions say to bake until "set," and at 35 minutes, it was still totally liquid. I let it stay in until it had been about 50 minutes, and it was still pretty runny. After it started to cool, it became clear that the sugar had been boiled to the hard ball stage, because it became totally hard and sticky when you tried to eat it. The flavor wasn't great either, unless you like the flavor of dark molasses. I'm a total dessert person, and I couldn't eat more than a bite or two. Total bummer! Now I will have to soak the pan in hot water just to get rid of the leftovers. This is the first time in over 18 years of cooking that something just has turned out terribly. Very sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Like other reviewers, I also cut the amount of brown sugar (2/3c) and water (3/4c) in the pudding portion. It was great and still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a very rich, very chocolatey dish. It is great if you are in the mood for a chocolate attack. I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to the batter, as per other reviewers, and maybe 1/4 c semisweet chocolate chips. When it is ready, the bottom will be a thick liquid and the top will be sort of a crust. A dollop of whipped cream helped temper the sweetness of the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I like a thicker sauce to the pudding, so I reduce the water and brown sugar to 1/2 cup of each and I double the cocoa (4T in all). I also sprinkle chocolate chips on top of the batter before I pour the water mixture for extra chocolatey-ness. This needs only 30 minutes to bake. Easy to make vegan with soy milk. I also omit the nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This recipe turned out great! I followed everything except I used just 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 of brown sugar. Other than that this brownie pudding was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_psmama
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I had to make a couple of adjustments, as I didn't have any milk when I decided to make this lol. I used 1/3 cup of heavy cream in place of the 1/4 cup milk. Also, after reading reviews of the brownie part being dry, I added a dollop of sour cream. I followed the recipe for everything else (didn't add any nuts). Baked in an 9x9 pan in my toaster over for 35 min. I let it cool for 30 min before digging in (allowing it to cool somewhat lets the pudding set-up). Topped with whipped cream. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tasted a little bit baking-powdery to my husband. I took the advice of others and used more chocolate powder in the brown sugar mixture, used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup water. It was very good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Made this for a freind of mine and she really liked it topped with ice cream and warmed up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSKALMAN
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was absolutely delicious and perfect for my pregnant chocolate craving!! I have to say though that I tasted the batter and added more cocoa. One tablespoon cocoa just wasn't enough. I ended up with 3 tablespoons cocoa in the brownie batter and 2 in the brown sugar mixture. It came out very pudding like and was just delicious. The only other little change I made was to use butter instead of shortening because it's what I had. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States