Brownie Mix in a Jar III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
The recipe was great (enjoyed it myself and received many compliments) but it was unfortunate to find the a 1 quart mason jar (1 quart = 4 cups!) were not going to cut it for a gift I was throwing together on the day of. The recipe contains over 5 cups of content...I did try to pack the ingredients down but do not think I could have made any more room for the remaining 1/2+ cup of flour mixture I had left. Anyone fit these ingredients into a 1 quart?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Butterscotch is brown sugar and butter, and these brownies have it. They do not taste like artificial butterscotch chips, but they have a cleaner taste, so the former reviewers wondering why they don't include the chips may not realize these are true butterscotch. Sweet, a bit gooey, chewy from the coconut (and if you snag the corner piece!), they are delightful. If you like nuts, chopped pecans would be a nice addition. I'd be happy using this mix as a gift. My daughter loved the brownies, and I like that they are not chocolate--although nothing's wrong with chocolate, we just like it way too much in our house! Thanks for a great recipe! *Be sure to use a big jar, this calls for 5 cups of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
It must have been the pan I used - an 8x8 glass, but these just would not cook through. I sort of remember hearing not to use a square glass pan for brownies. Too bad, they smelled good but the sides were burnt and then one inch in the whole thing was gooy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
"Butterscotch" refers to brown sugar. Butterscotch pies, sauces and candies all contain brown sugar instead of white, so this dish is named appropriately (though I find it hard to imagine that butterscotch chips would hurt the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
My mom made these a lot when we were little, I have always loved them - even more than chocolate sometimes :). The "butterscotch" name comes from the flavor that you get when the sugar carmelizes. IMHO, it ruins them to add butterscotch chips or even nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
maybe it is obvious to others,but the recipe does not include the butterscotch. I am assuming you add butterscotch morsels. I looked at this recipe because I love butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
coconut nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFENMUMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Great recipe!! Everyone loved this one, I used this as teacher gifts for the beginning of the year... Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Makes a wonderful gift. I made several jars for my family. SMC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Tried out the recipe before giving out as gifts...the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States