Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I was looking for a jar recipe that didn't contain brown sugar (b.c. it gets hard), but still tasted yummy. Jackpot!! I did a trial run last night after reading the reviews, and I'm very pleased (after making some changes). One reviewer suggested using only 2 c. sugar and 3 eggs (thanks!) & that made it fit in the jar perfectly. To cut down the "all sugar" look, I layered as follows: flour mixture first, then 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, then the pecans. It looked better that way. I used cones I made from printer paper to fill the jar, and after each addition I tapped the jar on the counter to settle the ingredients. When I mixed up the batch to bake, I did add a tsp. vanilla with the 3 eggs. As someone else mentioned, it was a little dry, so I added another 1/4 c melted butter for a total of 1 cup. Just right!! My husband (who doesn't like sweets that much) had 3 in a row! They were very moist and delish. Thanks so much, now I have x-mas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I though I'd give this recipe a try before gift giving. I modified slightly: increasing butter to 1 cup, adding a teaspoon vanilla, and using a vegetable spray instead of greasing and flouring the pan. I ended up with moist, tasty brownies that came out of the pan easily. Needless to say, several jars of this mix will leave my kitchen as gifts. It is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Ok a few things. First, the taste definitely gets 5 stars, BUT only with the user recommended changes to the recipe. Those changes are as follows: use 1 c. melted butter, 3 eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla(this requires you to change the info on the tag you print; trust me you want to do that, i did a test run and they are sooooooooo good w/ the changes). Also, for the ingrediants in the jar it's fine w/ only 2 c. sugar. OK second, another major problem is getting everything to fit. I used 1 quart wide-mouth canning jars. You HAVE to pack down everything!!!! I found making my hand into a fist and using my knuckles and back of hand to pack down ingrediants works really well.Pack very tight!!!, seriously.In this order,Flour, baking powder, and salt, PACK!, then cocoa, PACK!, then wipe the inside of the jar with a dry paper towel(it gets pretty messy and will make the above sugar look dirty), then put the sugar (packing here helps only a little bit but still do it). *Another reveiwer figured out a clever trick which i will reiterate here "To cut down the "all sugar" look, I layered as follows: flour mixture first, then 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, then the pecans." This works well and looks good, but i ran out of time, so just did the norm way and it looks fine.* Ok by now there is very little room in the jar, even with all that packing. So I basically improvised. I put about 1/4 c each of nuts and choc chips. You could do just one or the other but my point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I make these with the changes suggested by the other reviewers, and it is such an incredible hit wherever I serve it. The best part about it is how easy it is to make. (Also, cut out a couple of pieces for yourself when it's right out of the oven. It's gooey and messy but utterly heavenly.) The changes - 3 eggs, 1 cup butter, 2 cups sugar, 3/4 cup pecans, + 1 tsp vanilla essence and 1 cup choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I think that the brownies are great, however when I made the jars, the cocoa made them look like a mess. It was seeping into the other layers and I panicked that I had wasted a perfectly good jar. I ended up sticking a chopstick down the side about every inch to make it look like sand art. If I had left it, I wouldn't have even thought of sending it out as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I made this one night late last week when two friends of mine and my fiancee was over. It was soooo good! Everyone gobbled it up before I new it! I left out the nuts, just because I'm not fond of nuts on my brownies. I even had to make them again the next night, our friends practically begged, even helped! The 2nd day we made it i put in a half a cup of milk chocolate chips, it made it taste even better! I will make these up for x-mas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I was looking for an "in a jar" recipe for teacher gifts at our school. After reading all the reviews for this recipe, I thought it would be the perfect gift. NOT! We used one-quart wide-mouth mason jars as the recipe indicated, however, not all the ingredients fit and all you could see was SUGAR. Not much of a layered look. I was very disappointed. All my volunteers ended up using less sugar and JAMMING the nuts in last, which didn't even fit quite as many as I would have liked. I have yet to taste the recipe, but after all that work, they better be good. Just disappointed. I thought they'd look nicer than they actually do, maybe we did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
We plan to give soup and brownie mixes this year for xmas and although I am not a brownie fan, we had to taste-test before giving these as gifts. My family seemed to like them (although I only thought they were okay-but then again, I am biased as I don't really care for brownies in the first place). Therefore, these will be packaged for gifts. Be careful with the cocoa! It can make your jar a mess so I would recommend using a filter and letting it "settle" before wiping the jar clean for the next layer. I'm sure these will be well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I tried these before making them as gifts and they were good, not the best I've ever had but good (not as moist as I like 'em). I used the suggestion from a previous review to use a paper funnel to get the layers into the jar, I also tapped the jar on the counter to even it out before adding the next layer (it also added a pretty "snowfall" effect). I also did Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar (also on this site) for Christmas gifts and thought they turned out much prettier than the brownie mix because they have many more different layers and they were much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great to give as a gift. When I was ready to bake these, it was really easy to mix and bake. A good idea for busy mom's to make the jars ahead of time and bake them up later when you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States