Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I've used this recipe several times and we love it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGRL100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe was good, but not fantastic. I tried to test it before giving it as a gift, and it went from being very wiggly and underdone to being too dry when I left it in 10 mins longer. I also followed others suggestions and used 1 cup of butter, choc chips and peacans. I immediately made it again to see what went wrong, and made sure it was not overcooked. It was better the second time around, but has to be watched carefully. I also like a thicker brownie,so the 9x13 pan I used the first time produced brownies that were rather flat and thin. The second time around, I used a 9x9 pan & extended the time by 5 mins. Got a higher brownie, but next time I will use an 8x8 pan to get an even higher, fudgier brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
We made these as just regular brownies... not brownies in a jar. They were WONDERFUL!! We took some of the other suggestions and added 1 tsp vanilla and a full cup of butter. We also just sprayed some Olive Oil Pam on the Pan instead the whole grease and flour method. Came out of the pan great!! Nice a chocolatey!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I had to change my review after making the second batch which came out absolutely perfect with these changes: 2 cups sugar, 1 cup buter, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 3/4 cup pecans, and 1 tsp vanilla. They were so fudgy and yummy! I brought them to work and my co-workers kept asking me to make more! For gifts, I actually decided to go ahead and bake the brownies and put them in Christmas tubs from the dollar store! So cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy'slearningtocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I tried these out before giving them out as gifts and found them to be quite good. The only changes I made was to add 3 eggs, instead of 4, so the brownies would be fudgier, and took other people's recommendatons of adding 1 tsp. vanilla. As I was layering the mix, I added 1 cup of the sugar, then the pecans, then the rest of the sugar to give it a more layered look. The sugar mixes down somewhat in with the pecans, but still looks nice. Be sure to pack each layer down as this BARELY fits into a qt. jar. Good recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
i made this looking for a recipe that tastes like the box. perfect. i used 1 cup butter as per other reviews but it would be fine with 3/4c. this recipe makes more batter than the box if you don't want them too deep you could probably use 2 9x9's instead of a 9x13. very good brownies, fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Per others' suggestions, I used 1 c. melted butter and only 3 eggs plus 1 t. vanilla flavoring, and swapped 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips for the 1/2 c. nuts. I baked mine in an 8x8 pan and increased baking time by 15 minutes, and the results were the thickest, most decadently divine brownies ever. DEFINITELY gift-worthy - package the mix in plastic bags and put that inside a brown paper lunch bag for a cheaper alternative to glass jars. Add a raffia or holiday ribbon bow along with an instruction tag, and put a holiday die-cut on the front with the name of the mix (minus the "in the jar" part). That's how I'm giving mine this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Well, I made these, and they're just ok. Definitely add some vanilla and decrease the butter a bit. I think I'll try the "Sand Art" brownies in a jar on this site before I make my decision. Oh how awful, that means I'll HAVE to eat more brownies...to test them out, you know. LOL! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Most brownie recipes that use melted chocolate are too sweet for my taste so I tried this one because it uses cocoa and sure enough it tastes great! Very moist and chocolatey! I made a few changes - 3 eggs instead of 4 for a fudgier brownie, 1 cup of butter and 2 cups of sugar. I also added a cup of chocolate chips and 1.5 cups of walnuts to give the brownie a little more texture... Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
These are the best brownies ever, especially if you add in chocolate chips. I was the head cook at a summer camp this year, and these were friday's lunch dessert. Counselors counld hardly wait for fridays and campers loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States