Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I made this recipe with my middle school students..they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I make these with the changes suggested by the other reviewers, and it is such an incredible hit wherever I serve it. The best part about it is how easy it is to make. (Also, cut out a couple of pieces for yourself when it's right out of the oven. It's gooey and messy but utterly heavenly.) The changes - 3 eggs, 1 cup butter, 2 cups sugar, 3/4 cup pecans, + 1 tsp vanilla essence and 1 cup choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I've been searching for a good brownie recipe that uses cocoa powder instead of the unsweetened baking chocolate squares and I am so glad to find this one! I never have the baker's chocolate squares on hand, but always have cocoa powder. But when I went to try this recipe I quickly discovered I was 1/3 cup short of cocoa powder, so I stirred in 1/4 cup of dark chocolate syrup and it worked great! I can't wait to try it with the full 2/3 cup of cocoa. I also reduced the sugar to 2 cups. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I will be making the jar gifts for this in the future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I usually replace the pecans with peanut butter M&Ms, peanut butter morsels, white chocolate morsels, or chocolate-carmel swirl morsels--> everyone loves them. They are always a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DigitalGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I also used only 1 and a half cups of sugar, chocolate chips in place of nuts, only three eggs, 1 cup of butter and a teaspoon of vanilla essence and it was yummy. I took them in to work and everyone loved them, I had to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
We loved this recipe! I have never had or made a better brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
GREAT mix! You can even give it a fat-reduced option that's quite rich: Instead of adding a whole egg, add the equivalent volume of egg whites and substitute nonfat yogurt for the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I took the others' advice and used 3 eggs, tsp vanilla and some choc chips in lieu of the nuts. Really delicious. Right out of the oven would be really good with a scoop of ice cream on top! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
A great Christmas present. I have used it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Definitely went with other's recommendations and added 3 eggs, 1 c butter, 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 c choc chips--they were really good--much better than store bought I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States