Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Well I made this last night. Turned into a brownie cake of sorts. I melted chocolate chips and poured it along to make a wicker pattern.. Hope the guests like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife Bilodeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I love these brownies! And how easy is the recipe? I have made them using tips suggested by other reviewers - 2 cups of sugar,3 eggs - and they are great! My children love them and they are so moreish.I get asked for the recipe whenever I make them. They look great in the jar as a gift, too. Brownies and the "in a jar" thing aren't as popular or well known here in Australia, except at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made these to determine if I wanted to give them as gifts in jars. These were very good, very chocolately. If you like dense, chewy brownies, these are not for you. These brownies are more 'cakey.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Delicious. I'm only giving a four because i modifyed the recipe. I used the 1 cup of butter and 3 eggs. At first I thought i had mad a mistake. They were gooey. After firming up I could describe them as the perfect brownie. I also substitutes the choco chips of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I just made two pans of these brownies - one as written, the other with the changes that most reviewers made (1 cup melted butter, 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 eggs) and I must say that I prefer them the way the recipe is written - one cup of butter seems to be too much to me. One thing I did do when assembling the jars was to put the pecans into a small resealable plastic bag before putting them into the jars - this way those who do not care for nuts in their brownies (and I have found that many don't) can exclude them if they wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I usually make Brownie Mixes from the store - because they're fast, cheap, and taste as good as homemade. THIS recipe was as easy and AS GOOD AS store box mixes. MAYBE better. Definitely a do-again, even for the very high sugar content. Looks good in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
As many reviews suggested, I used 2 cups o fsugar and 3 eggs. I also added 1/2cup of chocolate chips. I baked in a 9x9 pan, so I baked them for 55 minutes. They tasted great. I am giving it a 4 because it's not the best ever, but its close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These are a great basic brownie!! I adjusted the eggs and butter as other reviewers suggested. I also substituted 1 Cup Splenda sugar blend for the regular sugar. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great brownies and just as easy as the box kind but MUCH MUCH BETTER!! I used 2 cups of sugar and some vanilla, was still a little sweet so will cut the sugar even more next time. My husband LOVED these. Commented more than once how good and moist they were. This is a real KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Gave this to a teacher for a gift and she ended up asking me for the recipe, she loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States