Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made one of these as a test before I made them up to give for christmas gifts. Overall I thought they were pretty good brownies...I have not heard from my reciepents what they thought of them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
YUMMY! Very much a cake-style brownie. I used 1/4c nuts, 1/8 choc chips, and 1/8 M&Ms because they were for a brown and blue baby shower. I followed reviews and used 3 cups of sugar, and vanilla, 3 eggs, and 1c butter when mixing. I also used the suggestion to layer from bottom to top, flour/choc/sugar/choc/sugar/nuts/chips/candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecureforcommon
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made several for a recent baby shower and was thrilled! I made a slight adjustment by using chocolate chips instead of the nuts, in case any guests had allergies. I ended up needing about 6 oz. (or half of a standard 12 oz. package) to top off the jars. I was a bit nervous using an "in a jar" recipe, but they turned out so well, and I have only received rave reviews from friends. The brownies turned out moist and delicious. This is a recipe I'll use even if I'm not prepping them in a jar ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecureforcommon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This will probably be a gift next Christmas. I used 2 c sugar, 1 c melted butter, 3 eggs, some walnuts, and some leftover reeses pieces (.25c -.33c?). Just delightful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made about 12 batches for Christmas gifts this year. Of course, I had to "test" one first, and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Right! Like some of the other commenters have said way to much stuff to fit in a regular mouth mason jar. I had to put the pecans and the rest of the sugar in a bag and tape it to the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
awesome gift idea. make sure you pack everything down or else everything won't fit in the jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! This is the first jar mix I have made and I learned very quickly that spaghetti jars don't work because they are too small. I added lib really quickly by putting the nuts in a baggie of Syran-Wrap and hanging it off the side with the same ribbon that held the instructions. I thought it looked lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Just tested this recipe out to use for holiday gifts this year, and the brownies are delicious! To make these as friendly as possible for everyone, we replaced the nuts with chocolate chips, which my family loved. I didn't need the full 25-30 minutes too cook them in my oven, though - when I checked them at 22 minutes, they were finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Who needs more jars? Assemble the gift in Tupperware - it's useful, practical and lasts forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States