Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe and it is SUPER greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C. Gibb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very easy and fun to make! I shared this recipe as a DIY Christmas Gift on YouTube. You will most likely want to put this in a mason jar as a gift but be aware you will need a larger container or you will need to use two mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Definitely yummy recipe. It is not too powdery like many recipes without chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Dusty
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very easy. I'd recommend using wide-mouth jar, as it's easier to press each layer down all around. I shaped and taped a sheet of paper (8.5"x11") into a funnel that fit perfectly into each jar; this made things much easier and much less messy! Even the cocoa powder did not coat the sides (which the recipe warns about).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I was doing a trial run for Christmas gifts am after cracking eggs and mixing dry ingredients realized we had no butter. I used half a cup of vegetable oil and a quarter cup of water and the brownies came out cakey and delicious. I tried it again with the butter and they were moist and fudgy both ways were good. I cook them for 30 minutes. I used 2 cups of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and half a cup of chocolate chips. I like that the vegetable oil and water is so quick and easy and lower in fat. I layered them in the jar doing flour first and then mixing the Cocoa with 1/2 cup of sugar putting half of that for a brown layer, an additional cup of sugar, rest of brown and remaining 1/2 sugar and chocolate chips on top. Will be great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this one for my friends birthday, and she said it tasted amazing! It's good to be creative and abnosome when decorating the jar. Also make sure it's a glass jar, or else whenever you hold it you will mess up the pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Cut sugar by a quarter cup. Will make again using the original recipe. Nice taste. Used jumbo eggs cause thats what I had. Makes a nice big pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I'm planning to make these for an upcoming bazaar sale, so made the recipe beforehand. I had no problems fitting the ingredients into a regular quart mason jar, I had no wide mouth on hand, and the ingredients fit just fine in a regular. The only change I made when preparing the recipe was to substitute an equal amount of vegetable oil for the butter. These turned out perfectly & are delicious! I'm pleased with the recipe & will definately be adding them to the 'recipes in a jar' list for the bazaar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Although I did not make this, I did put it together in a jar, and just so you know, all the ingredients did not fit. I was barely able to fit the sugar, there was no room at all for the pecans. I'm just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made these as christmas gifts this year. But I improvised a little. Alot of my friends are still single and forcing them to make a whole batch of brownies didnt seem right, so instead I cut the recipe in half and put them in pint jars instead. They are still pretty and i did a test run to see if they would come out and they do. Instead of an 8x8 pan I greased a cupcake/muffin pan and place the brownie mixture in it. They were good and turned out alot better then i had imagined! Great gift and I agree with alot of the other users that the cocoa does stick to the side, I recommend using a funnel or a pastry bag to fill the jars, and when packing them remind yourself that maybe it all wont fit but giving your friends options is alot nicer. I placed walnuts, christmas mnms, and mini chocolate chips in bags and attached them to the jars, so when they made them they had the option to use one, all, or none. Great gift idea that helped the ball roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States