Brownie-Mallow Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
While the recipe I've used for these bars for probably 20-plus years goes by a different name, it varies only in that it calls for milk chocolate chips (which I prefer) rather than the semi-sweet. Since package sizes of brownie mix vary, I also always follow the package directions rather than what's directed in this recipe. This is a real crowd pleaser for those who like their sweet treats rich, gooey and decadent and is easily put together with pantry ingredients likely already at hand. Once the bars are firm, there is no need to keep them refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is the second year I've made these to pass out to friends and neighbors during the holidays and I always get such great compliments on them. They are so gooey and delicious, and the crunch from the rice crispy puts it over the top! I recommend using Betty Crocker's fudge brownie mix and under bake by a few minutes so that when you put the marshmallows on top and continue cooking the brownies won't get too done by the end. Cover the entire brownie mix with the marshmallows because once they're baked you don't want to try and spread or smear them or you'll just get a mess. Really let it cool before pouring the chocolate/peanut butter topping on so the marshmallows won't smear off. Such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
WOW!! These were GREAT! They are very rich! For the brownie portion I used Ghiradelli brownie mix from Costco but followed the directions on the box and then put it in a 9x13 inch glass dish for 28 min. I didn't change anything else. I think that your favorite brownie mix/recipe is what you should use. We had several people over for dinner and served this for dessert. Everyone LOVED it! It is now one of our favorite desserts. Next time I am going to try some of it without the rice krispies because I think that I personally will like it better without them but everyone else liked the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbee
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very easy recipe and comes out nice and rich. The semi-sweet chips keep it from being too sweet. The "topping" nearly doubles the thickness so cut them small. For nice clean slices make sure the topping is well set. I used Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge mix, following the "low fat" version (replacing the oil with apple sauce) and Jif Natural peanut butter. Thank you for posting! I have been hunting all over for this recipe after hubby came home raving about these brownies someone had brought to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
All I can say is YUM! I made them as written and loved them, but this is also a good base for modifying. Add different nuts and/or white chocolate chips to the brownie. For the person who rated it one star because the marshmallows were too chewy, you baked the marshmallows too long! I baked the dish just until the marshmallows puffed up with and a hint of brown. No longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Marshmallows were too chewy and overpowering. Will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is SO Awesome! My pickiest eater isn't into baked goods, but loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the recipe! I used crunchy peanut butter and then subbed 1/2 cup crushed cornflakes for the rice cereal. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I too used the D/H Dark Choc Fudge Brownie mix. The mix was not the amount the recipe called for (it was less). Regardless, I followed this recipes measurements and time and the brownie turned out great. The chocolate topping is delish! I do not recommend refrigerating this because the marshmallows got too stiff. My guests loved it and even wanted to bring some home to share with their kids and husbands. I really liked the richness and the flavors of each layer. I will definitely make his again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
They were good, but we didn't like how the marshmallow got hard and chewy. I would make them again without the marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States